You are here

Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Moderator: Moderators

Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby george_vel » Mon Feb 22, 2021 9:51 pm

Hi guys,

I’m looking at iZotope Tonal Balance bundle (includes Nectar, Neutron, Ozone and Tonal balance) with the intention to purchase it, but my current DAW is not compatible with this software.

I am currently using Adobe Audition CS6.

The list of compatible DAWs with iZotope bundle goes like this (the plugin Nectar 3 Plus with least supported DAWs is listed here as it will limit all other options):

Logic Pro X, Ableton Live 9-10.1, Pro Tools 12.8-2020.5, Cubase 9.5-10.5, FL Studio 20.6, Studio One 5, Reason 10, REAPER 6, Bitwig Studio 2-3

At the moment I have PC Windows 10, iCore 5, 8GB RAM, with the intention to upgrade pretty soon to iCore 7 with 32GB RAM.

ProTools seems most famous, but not sure how stable it is on Windows based systems.
And note, so far my experience is only with Adobe products (which is not listed here for Nectar at all), so anything else should include the learning curve as well.

Which one you’d recommend?
What DAW you’re using? And why?

More over, I don’t see Magix’s products on the list (Samplitude, Sequoia...). Can you assume/guess why? I had an intention to move from Audition to Samplitude, but lack of info how to crossfade different takes hold me back for now.

And, in general, do you think iZotope’s new versions are really good for the classical/acoustic genre?

I’m impressed with their latest Assistant feature (ML based), but again - all online video tutorials are made for the pop, rap, rock, etc. genres and not sure how mature they are for the most challenging area of classical music.
george_vel
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:03 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby blinddrew » Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:01 pm

Have a think about Cakewalk (free) and Reaper (cheap) as they're both very capable DAWs that allow you a decent time to play and get a hold of it before you need to commit.
Most other DAWs have a trial period I think but I don't know about durations.
Don't get hung up on Pro-tools, there's no such thing as an 'industry standard DAW'. Find one that works for you and has the features that you need.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13601
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby The Elf » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:08 pm

blinddrew wrote:Don't get hung up on Pro-tools, there's no such thing as an 'industry standard DAW'. Find one that works for you and has the features that you need.
+1 Don't believe that tired old hype.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16229
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:16 pm

Make that +2 and I'd also recommend Reaper.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 30151
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound
In my world, things get less strange when I read the manual... 

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby James Perrett » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:20 pm

It would be worth trying them with Audition before going to the effort of learning another DAW. I see that Audition is certainly on the list for some of their products (including Ozone) so there are possibly just one or two that aren't compatible.

I moved from Audition to Reaper around 12 years ago without too much difficulty (although I still keep Audition as one of the editors on Reaper's right click menu for things like click/pop removal and spectral editing).
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10366
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby george_vel » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:25 pm

blinddrew wrote:...
Don't get hung up on Pro-tools, there's no such thing as an 'industry standard DAW'. Find one that works for you and has the features that you need.

I am not hung up with ProTools, yet most of YouTube tutorials are created with it.
To be honest, I’ve never used it and it will challenge me to learn it if I go for it.

The one that works for me (so far) is Audition, but it lacks the support of the above mentioned plug-ins and it seems to be out of the list of professional’s toolkit.

I haven’t the intention to promote ProTools as industry standard, although Cubase looks like a such one.
I worked recently with a musical producer and he said “Make it sound like this and that in Cubase” to which I said “I don’t use Cubase, I work with Audition”, and he replied “It doesn’t matter, I call them all Cubase” :-D

My questions here are more towards the best DAW used by professionals which are also compatible with iZotope.
This way I can commit to learn a new software that is future-proof and compatible with the plug-ins I like.

So, back to my one of my initial questions - what DAW you’re using and why?
george_vel
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:03 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby Sam Spoons » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:28 pm

+1 for Reaper from me too. Unless you already know a DAW well you might as well go for the most cost effective, as long as it will get the job done, and learn to use it.

FWIW I used Cubase for a while before using hardware for 10 years, then I returned to computer based recording and decided that, as I would be starting from scratch, it didn't matter which DAW I chose. I had bought an old Mac G5 from a mate and the options were Cubase or various other DAWs for around £400 or Reaper for £40 and it was a no-brainer. That was about 10 years ago and was definitely a good decision.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15189
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Still taking this recording lark seriously (and trying to record my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby george_vel » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:37 pm

Oh, you’ve posted so many answers meanwhile. Thanks for that.

I see Reaper goes pretty fast up on the list.

But why? Is it better compared to the others or just its cost was the main driver?

For the record, I am not using the DAW for recording, only for mix and mastering.

For recording I use Zoom F6 for now, with the intention to upgrade to Sound Devices MixPre-10 II pretty soon (32-bit float calling here :-D).
george_vel
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:03 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby The Elf » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:58 pm

Just my opinion...

For cost - Reaper is unbeatable.

For everything else - Cubase is unbeatable.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16229
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby James Perrett » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:08 am

george_vel wrote:I see Reaper goes pretty fast up on the list.

But why? Is it better compared to the others or just its cost was the main driver?


In my case, the low cost was initially attractive but also the fact that I could pretty much dive straight in after using Audition. They're a bit different but not that different (assuming Audition hasn't changed too much since version 3).

However, before buying Cool Edit Pro (which became Audition) I bought a few of the alternatives like Cakewalk and Cubase and ended up having problems - with compatibility in Cakewalk's case and reliability in the case of Cubase.

The pace of development with Reaper is amazing and it is in no way the little brother of the other DAW's. I'll often read about a new feature in a DAW review and think 'Reaper's had that for years'. It also has a big developer community who take advantage of Reaper's extensive scripting abilities to create all kinds of new features and plug-ins. I very rarely need to use third party plug-ins apart from the specialist restoration abilities of RX or Satin.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10366
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby blinddrew » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:49 am

Sorry George, i didn't mean to put words in your mouth. Bit it is a fairly common assumption we see here. My apologies.
Personally I use Reaper as it does everything I need it to do, is very reasonably priced, and seems to work with anything you throw at it. 32 bit plugin? No problem. Weird old video codec? No problem.
Cubase seems to be very well thought of for people who are very midi-based.
Logic comes with a very good selection of instruments. (As does Cubase and others)
I'm sure other folks will chime in with other DAWs and their benefits as well.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13601
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby george_vel » Tue Feb 23, 2021 7:20 am

blinddrew wrote:Sorry George, i didn't mean to put words in your mouth. Bit it is a fairly common assumption we see here. My apologies.
Personally I use Reaper as it does everything I need it to do, is very reasonably priced, and seems to work with anything you throw at it. 32 bit plugin? No problem. Weird old video codec? No problem.
Cubase seems to be very well thought of for people who are very midi-based.
Logic comes with a very good selection of instruments. (As does Cubase and others)
I'm sure other folks will chime in with other DAWs and their benefits as well.

Hey, no need to apologize, everything is ok. :)

TBH, I’ll give Reaper a try. I made small research and it seems quite good proposition. Given the fact that iZotope products are not cheap at all, I’d not refuse a cost effective yet powerful and capable DAW.

Thanks to all that gave their 2 cents. :thumbup:
george_vel
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:03 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby rggillespie » Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:27 am

Good choice with Reaper George, I'm a very happy user of it with izotope ozone and neutron and they work perfectly together for me. The online videos for reaper are good to sort you out at the start, and the folks here are very supportive and well informed too.
rggillespie
Regular
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 8:24 am

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:48 am

Given that Reaper does everything that other DAWs do I decided that there was little point in paying the premium for any of the commercially based DAWs. I also like the way Cockos conduct their business.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15189
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Still taking this recording lark seriously (and trying to record my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Recommend a new DAW for iZotope bundle

Postby Humble Bee » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:57 pm

If you’re on the Mac Logic will be hard to beat. Awesome bang for the buck. £200 free updates.

Cubase does more or less the same but is much more expensive, especially over time. £400 + payed updates (£80ish/year?)

Reaper is the cheaper very good alternative.

Pro Tools... I don’t know. Anyone for Pro Tools? :)

Edit:

You’re on windows so ignore what I said or buy a new Apple M1+Logic and be done with it.
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Sweden

Next