You are here

Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:08 am

Yeah, he's ignorant as hell in that parallel univ...

Oh wait.

Parallel.

Yeah.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14525
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Wonks » Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:15 am

Apparently this is his profile pic.

Image
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11429
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Wonks » Wed Apr 28, 2021 10:17 am

You're almost identical.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11429
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:17 pm

Yeah, I bet everyone looks at him and thinks 'his mixes lack a sense of real space'.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14525
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 28, 2021 4:09 pm

Ok, back at the desk now and will run a couple more trials and let you know what's what.
First off, turning every FX on the project off, and rendering at 24 bit, Extreme HQ in real time, and automatically bouncing it to a new track.
Interestingly a straight flip of the polarity doesn't null to zero, but if I set up the output of the new bounce to go directly to the outputs (and bypass the master channel) it does null completely.
I think this is the difference I was hearing right back at the start. I suspect everything else is related to other plugins doing some kind of analogue approximation that's different each time.
Will confirm in a bit.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14525
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 28, 2021 4:22 pm

Aaaaand there it is! The "Doh! :headbang: " moment.
Acustica Taupe also does a funny analogue-ish thing but in quite a pronounced way. Not as much as 8 channels of BX but enough.

I still think it's a bit weird that there's a difference between a track being routed directly to the output and one being routed through the master bus (with no FX).

Anyway, I think I'm done here. Time to go and sort out those drums to keep James Perrett happy! ;)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14525
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Martin Walker » Wed Apr 28, 2021 4:26 pm

Success! :clap:

And it WAS a faux analogue plug-in to blame ;)


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 17485
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Martin Walker » Wed Apr 28, 2021 4:28 pm

blinddrew wrote:I still think it's a bit weird that there's a difference between a track being routed directly to the output and one being routed through the master bus (with no FX).

As a stalwart Reaper user myself, I'll think on about this and see if any explanation occurs to me.


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 17485
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Wonks » Wed Apr 28, 2021 4:54 pm

Whereabouts was the Taupe plug-in sitting in your set-up?
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11429
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 28, 2021 5:31 pm

Martin Walker wrote:Success! :clap:
And it WAS a faux analogue plug-in to blame ;)
Martin
Indeed, well, that and the master bus routing.

Wonks wrote:Whereabouts was the Taupe plug-in sitting in your set-up?
On my dummy master bus. You know, the most obvious place to check. :headbang:

Sometimes I think I should just write this all off as a loss and give my kit to someone who'll actually know how to use it.
But in the meantime I'm just going to blame the construction works next door for interrupting my sleep an hour and half early every day. :yawn:
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14525
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Wonks » Wed Apr 28, 2021 5:37 pm

We've got Thames Water replacing a long section of water main in the road at the back of our house. There's what I can only assume is a generator-driven pump that kicks in for long periods and then goes quiet, all day and all night. We are in week 3 of 12 weeks of work. It's not overly noisy in itself. But you can definitely hear it and it's the starts and the stops that keep waking me in the early hours.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11429
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby ManFromGlass » Wed Apr 28, 2021 5:45 pm

It’s been a year since installing a new fridge. The starts always woke me up as it has a more powerful motor (compressor?). Finally sleeping through the night. I guess I am used to those frequencies now.
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4415
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00 am
Location: O Canada

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Apr 28, 2021 5:48 pm

Well they appear to have finished the initial stages of the demolition now, next comes the road building though - assuming that they get through the public inquiry this week.
Then we're into 10-15 yrs of building work but fortunately most of that won't be happening just over our back fence.
By then I might have got the drums on this track sorted...
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14525
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby manwilde » Wed Apr 28, 2021 6:08 pm

I´ve just done a simple test on my old latop using ReaSynth at its default, playing a few notes and rendering the result as audio and then rendering the project and adding the render on a new track... and they don´t completely null!!! :shocked:

No dither, same format and bit depht.

What´s really funny is: if after inverting the polarity of the added render I render the project again, the result DOES null...

I´ll do more tests on my main computer later or tomorrow, but this is not good...
manwilde
Regular
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: Why doesn't my bounce sound like my active mix?

Postby Peevy » Wed Apr 28, 2021 6:21 pm

Pesky plugins! :crazy:

Glad to hear problem solved! :thumbup:
Peevy
Regular
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:00 am

PreviousNext