You are here

next step DAW grown out of Garageband

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Moderator: Moderators

next step DAW grown out of Garageband

Postby forumuser743521 » Fri Jun 04, 2021 7:50 pm

Hi

I am not a great fan of Macs and have grown out of Garageband so although Logic Pro beckons it doesn't let me leave the Mac behind

I have a home studio with Focusright Scarlett interface and am not sure whether to stick it out with Logic Pro or plump for something else - Ableton? Pro tools?

I am a musician so less interested in the tech but need to be able to record to a good technical standard

Would really appreciate views form the group
forumuser743521

Re: next step DAW grown out of Garageband

Postby BJG145 » Fri Jun 04, 2021 8:39 pm

forumuser743521 wrote:I have a home studio with Focusright Scarlett interface and am not sure whether to stick it out with Logic Pro or plump for something else - Ableton? Pro tools?

Everyone says "Reaper" now. So maybe try that first if you're open-minded and don't have unlimited funds, or follow your gut if your inspiration is elsewhere. It's all about the inspiration and workflow, really.

I would say that Ableton and Pro Tools perhaps have a more distinct character than most, but quite a different character. Pro Tools started as the studio recording DAW of choice, whereas Ableton sets out its own path with a lot of looping functionality and integration with Max for advanced programmability.
BJG145
Jedi Poster

Postby RichardT » Fri Jun 04, 2021 8:51 pm

All the DAWs are very powerful. Reaper is the most affordable and would make a good choice.

Ableton is great for loop-based production.

The advantage of Logic, though, is that it can open GarageBand projects - so if you have lots of ideas in GarageBand that you want to develop further you can do it easily.
RichardT
Frequent Poster

Postby Moroccomoose » Fri Jun 04, 2021 8:57 pm