You are here

Making an Industrial Style Studio Desk, Need Feedback

Announce new products, updates, events, competitions, jobs and special offers here.

Making an Industrial Style Studio Desk, Need Feedback

Postby vindustrial » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:20 pm

I'm getting back into recording and decided to make a desk for my S61 keyboard. So I'd love to get some feedback on the design as I am new to this. Been making industrial furniture for 8 years now, so I know how to do that. Just want to make this desk as useful, and good looking as possible! I added some rack space in two spaces on the top, plan on having wiring channels in the back to hide that stuff, the base adjusts up and down a few inches with a wrench to make it more comfortable, etc.

Love to get some feedback, good and bad...

We can make them in other colors too.

These could be customized in a million different ways, size, finish, compartments, drawers, etc...
vindustrial

Re: Making an Industrial Style Studio Desk, Need Feedback

Postby Dave B » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:50 am

Very nice.

One thing to consider is the keyboard drawer - everyone thinks about the length, but the height is critical as is the amount it will come out. My desk / workstation was fine when I had a Kurzweil PC3K8, but the Korg Kronos is just a bit taller and needs to come out further to be useable. Most of the time, it's just a controller, but when I need it, then it's a hassle to get to the controls and screen. So I'm contemplating detaching the drawer base and installing long, flat arms to the runners to give me the extra depth and height needed.
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Postby CS70 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 10:04 am

vindustrial wrote:I'm getting back into recording and decided to make a desk for my S61 keyboard. So I'd love to get some feedback on the design as I am new to this.