You are here

Is it actually possible to make money from music anymore?

Advice on everything from getting your music heard to setting up a label and royalties.

Is it actually possible to make money from music anymore?

Postby GBlack » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:04 pm

Having just read a blog all about the ins and out of making money from streaming I feel pretty sick :cry:
I’m clean out of ideas of how to make money from music unless someone is generous enough to buy a download but apparently that’s now a rarity with streaming subscriptions.
I’m an electronic musician and don’t really gig but with the world all being about social media and online presence I’m wondering what’s the best avenue to take.
Any ideas anyone?
GBlack
Poster

Re: Is it actually possible to make money from music anymore?

Postby blinddrew » Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:26 pm

I know a few people who are professional musicians in various capacities, but in general very few of them are making any kind of money from original music. Even those who've been well reviewed and had national radio airplay. Most of their income comes from cover gigs and lessons, though a couple are trying to diversify into music recording / production - but as I'm sure most people here will tell you, there's booger all money there either.
The current reality is, as I perceive it, that:
1) ongoing, long-term, difficulties in the economy mean that people have less disposable income,
2) and what they have is split between far more options (games, cable tv, internet etc),
3) lower barriers to entry mean that a far higher number of artists are producing great content,
4) meaning supply is higher than demand,
5) convience / accessiblity currently trumps quality and duration - so streaming is now the most popular way of consuming music.