You are here

I have $10,000 to devote to marketing. What should it go toward?

Advice on everything from getting your music heard to setting up a label and royalties.

I have $10,000 to devote to marketing. What should it go toward?

Postby vignmusic » Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:43 am

I've been making music for about 2 years now but haven't really dipped my toes into marketing yet. I've done some research but nothing too extensive. I have about $10,000 that I'd be willing to devote solely to marketing (and before anyone tells me what else I should spend it on, I have more saved for other areas of my music). What are the best ways you guys can think of for me to spend it? Thanks!

Also I've considered using bits of it to:
- boost posts on social media
- hire someone already good at marketing
- buy equipment to play live shows
- bribe music bloggers? idk hahah

No idea how effective any of those could be though.
vignmusic

Re: I have $10,000 to devote to marketing. What should it go toward?

Postby ef37a » Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:05 pm

Give it to me and I will help you with the marketing when I get back about October from my cruise.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster

Postby johnny h » Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:31 pm

You don't say what kind of music you make or are interested in performing. Promo companies exist which will help you get featured and reviewed in relevant media. If your music sucks it still won't get any love, however.

Don't waste too much money on FB, its declining in importance. Instagram is more relevant these days, so buy yourself the latest iPhone and take lots of pictures of your shows (or hire a tour manager / photographer to come with you).
johnny h
Frequent Poster (Level2)

Postby Jumpeyspyder » Sat Apr 21, 2018 3:52 pm

first thing to do is find out if there is a market for your product.
(no ammount of advertising will increase sales of chocolate fireguards!)

Second, find out who is interested in your product.