You are here

ILok Rip-Off Scammer

Advice on everything from getting your music heard to setting up a label and royalties.

ILok Rip-Off Scammer

Postby 4gotten5tudio » Sun May 06, 2018 9:52 pm

Dear musician Friends, I’m Michael from Switzerland & Newbie here.
It’s my very first Post here and I’m really sorry for such “Rant-Beginning”.
But my patience to be fooled this way as an legal Customer is over.
I have noticed also that there is many more “Ilok-Victims” who bite the dust.
This Company abuses its Position mostly in case when you are depend on them.
The level of Consumer Protection in USA seems to be unfortunately very low.
I can’t imagine that such “Corporate Fraud” will survive many days in Switzerland.
Please note, this is not “Rant” against Copy Protection or its way to do it.
Software Products need lot of work and it’s self-evident to protect this huge effort.
I hope that SOS is not under Ilok’s thumb and will not delete my Post.
All mentioned issues are true facts and it’s not just a bashing at all.

I use several products protected by ILok.
Two Dongles are in use,”iLok 2nd Gen” and “iLok 3rd Gen”.
The “iLok 3rd Gen” contain all my Sonnox/Oxford licenses.
”iLok 2nd Gen” have only two licenses, Motu MachFive and IRCAM Reverb.
On other mobile Laptop I use sometimes MachFive and IRCAM Reverb.
That's why I keep the two licenses on two separated Dongle.
My Dongles are in mint condition, I handle it always very carefully.

Few days ago the ”iLok 2nd Gen” suddenly stopped working.
Only the blue light remain blinking, but no other function.
I was installing the Ilok Manager on several Machines (Mac & Windows) to try everything out.
The Result remain the same, Ilok-3 works perfectly, Ilok-2 is definitely dead.
This Problem seems to be well-knowing and is so-called:

“ILOK 2 - The Blinking Blue Light of Death”

In the “number of incidents” it looks for me like some faulty design.
I was “try” to contact the Support to resolve the Problem.