You are here

Release an album or EP?

Advice on everything from getting your music heard to setting up a label and royalties.

Release an album or EP?

Postby Kinh » Fri Oct 11, 2019 3:09 pm

I've got 10 songs mastered, ready to go and I'm tossing up whether I should release 2 EPs or 1 album. This is my first ever release. So what do you think would be the better option to maximize sales? It's electronic music but they're all songs. I'm a producer and the songs are of various singers.

The reason I ask is, from my own perspective whenever I know of an EP release from say a Kpop artist I'm not that inspired to buy it. It's just 5 tracks. How long does it take to get sick of 5 songs as opposed to an album. You know what I mean? I know a lot of independent producers do release EPs too but it may be because they lack material, I dont know. What do you think is the better option for 1st release?
Thanks
Kinh
Regular

Re: Release an album or EP?

Postby BigRedX » Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:02 pm

What are you after? Actual sales? Or building a following of listeners? Although the two are no necessarily mutually exclusive for a new artist there are advantages and disadvantages to each.

I currently play in two bands, one is about to release its second (8 song) album, the other is engaged in putting out a series of single track releases.