You are here

Sound mixing as a student job?

Advice on everything from getting your music heard to setting up a label and royalties.

Sound mixing as a student job?

Postby tobin. » Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:46 am

So in short I have been doing live sound at the church I go to for at least 5 years now (and I massively enjoy it) with about say 2-4 hrs of mixing a week except summer holidays.

Equipment im used to is Allen heath GLD 40, in ear monitoring. SM 58 which I prefer to the Sennheiser EW 100 ish? Wireless mics we have when it comes to singing for sure.

Usually I'm mixing for about drumset, Nordstage 3, bass, e guitar, acoustic (I would say generally ok but some not so nice sounding ones as well) and 2-3 vocalists and 80% women which is unfortunate there aren't more guys.

Aside from that my technical knowledge is quite limited, I have a good grasp of physics and electronics but that is about it and musically I played trumpet for at least 6 years in school/ jazz bands.

Is it realistic to try and find a job that goes well next to studying at the moment, and what can I expect and where can you find a good regular job, what is pay I could expect (Berlin Germany if it helps)

I do know how to use analog Mixers they have pros and cons Vs digital, and on stage monitors are mainly a drawback in my experience but I can handle them.

Anyways here's 20 y old me and my hobby ^^ any tips would be great
tobin.

Re: Sound mixing as a student job?

Postby The Red Bladder » Mon Mar 02, 2020 12:26 pm

Berlin? I doubt that there are many if any jobs going in audio in Berlin - the field is still vibrant in Berlin and people are making TV programmes and films - but A-for-V requires experience and the producers will be looking for 'Gestalter Bild u. Ton' or similar qualification plus experience.