You are here

Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby desmond » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:52 pm

With the usual amount of bug fixes... :)

"Logic Pro X now supports up to 36 cores."

Off to the App Store...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7955
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby Forum Admin » Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:45 pm

So, I've got 10.3.2 - is this 10.3.3 update F.O.C or payable?
User avatar
Forum Admin
Moderator
Posts: 2891
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: A studio deep in the fenlands of Cambridgeshire, UK
SEARCH SOS - 10,119 high quality articles: www.soundonsound.com/search/all
SOS gear videos, tutorials, studio tours: www.soundonsound.tv

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby desmond » Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:27 pm

You buy LPX, all minor updates and bug fixes are free...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7955
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby ConcertinaChap » Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:22 pm

Here's an odd thing. Just went into the appstore to check on the update and found that it doesn't think Logic X is installed. That is, there's nothing for Logic on the updates screen and on the purchased screen I'm offered the option to install 10.3.3. It's always been an update in the past, right up to 10.3.2 which I'm running.

I would expect that if I hit install it would detect and honour my preferences rather than overwriting everything but before I do I thought I'd check here and see if anyone knows differently.

TIA

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5605
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby Forum Admin » Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:46 pm

@CC — that’s what I got also and I held off clicking “Install”....
User avatar
Forum Admin
Moderator
Posts: 2891
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: A studio deep in the fenlands of Cambridgeshire, UK
SEARCH SOS - 10,119 high quality articles: www.soundonsound.com/search/all
SOS gear videos, tutorials, studio tours: www.soundonsound.tv

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby ConcertinaChap » Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:26 am

At least it does appear in the list of purchased apps, so we defo won't be charged for it. It's still unsettling.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5605
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby ConcertinaChap » Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:22 pm

Well I made a copy of 10.3.2, crossed my fingers and did install, and ............ all is well. Loud sigh of relief!

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5605
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby Kevin Nolan » Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:40 pm

I'm on El Capitan and amn't finding an option to upgrade LPX (I'm on 10.3.2).

If I go to the Apps Store it only offers me to buy it for 229.99 Euro.

Anyone else encounter this? Do I have to buy this release?


Thanks,
Kevin.
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 763
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby Kevin Nolan » Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:48 pm

Ignore my post above (I wan't logged in! :oops: )
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 763
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby LimitedHeadroom » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:29 pm

It seems automation is broken in the new version. :protest:
All the value numbers by nodes in an automation lane show the same number no matter what their actual value (usually the value of the last editd node but not always, sometimes they don't change at all). It also doesn't appear to be in sync, but about 1/8th behind where it's is drawn on the region. Anyone else getting this behaviour?

Still, they seem to have fixed holding down shift to limit dragging to only one direction in the piano roll.

I'll be sticking with the previous version. having to drag with caution is preferable to wonky automation.
LimitedHeadroom
Regular
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby ConcertinaChap » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:16 am

I was doing volume automation on a bunch of audio tracks only yesterday and had no problems of the kind you describe. Doesn't sound like you were working with audio data, though, which might make a difference.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5605
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Logic Pro X 10.3.3 Released

Postby LimitedHeadroom » Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:26 pm

Mmm, weird, good to know it's not across the board I guess. I was working with kontakt, automating volume & expression parameters on a bunch of string sample instruments. It's impossible to make even vaguely convingcing string sections without quite a lot of automation.

I've not been able to experiment further due to other comitments, but I will see if I can get to the bottom of it
LimitedHeadroom
Regular
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users