You are here

can i do diagnostic tests on another mac via target mode

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

can i do diagnostic tests on another mac via target mode

Postby paul tha other » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:29 pm

hey guys...was wondering ..i have a sick mac pro(its an old model2008ish) and a newer one (2011ish) thats working.both have firewire ports..ive run disk utillity on the working mac via target mode and checked the hard drive in the sick mac and its saying its fine and dandy...both macs are pretty much the same as it happens...the only differance i can see is a differant graphics card

can i check other things like ram cpu etc in the same way .if so what are the app's to use?

if you want to know the problem i have with the old mac , it just wont boot up.its makes the bong and then the apple appears on the grey screen..it looks like its going then i get a dark grey spinny thing then it stops spinning and will sit like that untill i switch it off.it used to boot up in safe mode but now its not even doing that..it will run in single user mode but im not up to speed on command line stuff..everything has been unplugged from it ..there is only the system drive in it and only left one gig of ram(which i have checked on the other mac and it seems to be working fine or at least its not stopping the other mac from booting up...ive also taken out the motu card that was in it..i have done the pram resetting..
when it was booting in safe mode i formatted the drive and did a fresh install of 10.6.8 and nothing else...so its as it comes off the shelf ,if you get what i mean..the sick mac has a what i assume is the same thing on a pc, a battery for the bios..could this be the source of my problem?if it sounds like it could be ,do i need to have the bios on a usb disk to install if i change out the battery or does the mac not work like this?

does this sound like a serious problem ie one thats gonna cost more than its worth to fix..im trying to fix because ive had a quiet month so im getting round to the "i can fix that when i have time" jobs we all have in our studios

paul
paul tha other
Frequent Poster
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: scotland
http://www.myspace.com/onemanandalaptop

]

Postby Sam Spoons » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:51 pm

Google "apple service diagnostics", I downloaded a specific test utility for my 2011 MBP (supposedly the same as Apple approved service centres use) and stuck it on a USB stick, booted from that and ran the diagnostic. Sadly it didn't find a fault but you may be luckier. You'll need to find out which specific app is correct for your MBP, list here :- http://www.dannydullin.com/apple-service-diagnostic-asd-reference-list/

Downloads here but not sure if it's complete, :- http://dreamsupport.us/downloads/apple-mac/Apple_Service_Diagnostic_Disks_25_GB/
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5498
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: can i do diagnostic tests on another mac via target mode

Postby paul tha other » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:46 am

awesome dude..thanks for that

paul
paul tha other
Frequent Poster
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: scotland
http://www.myspace.com/onemanandalaptop


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users