You are here

Mojave or not...

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:41 pm

Hi all!

I am currently running Yosemite 10.10.5 on my MacBook Air

(13-inch, Mid 2012, 2 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR)

Am I pushing it all the way to Mojave or what?

Running Logic 10.2.4 (is this really old or what? It still does what I need)

Latest Logic requires OS X 10.12 minimum.

Is it worth the potential hassle?

Or may be it is hassle free! :beamup:
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:26 pm

My main box is on High Sierra, which came with a new machine in July and gave me little trouble installing software apart from Office 2011 which flatly refuses to run. However all our other machines (3 in total) are on Sierra which I have found remarkably trouble free when upgrading to it

My advice, FWIW, would be to upgrade to Sierra, which is actually quite nice and is still supported for another year. You can then take your time considering whether to upgrade further. Obviously check all your software for compatibility before doing the upgrade and backup fully so you can restore if necessary, but you probably don't need me to tell you that.

My personal policy is never to upgrade to the latest version of Mac OS, I always keep at least one behind, but never more that two behind because the OS would be out of support and that's something that makes me feel twitchy ...

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6026
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby desmond » Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:19 pm

Sierra +1
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8190
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Jumpeyspyder » Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:20 pm

I agree with CC & Desmond

But will add, its always a good plan to backup your whole drive (using something like Carbon copy clonor or Superduper) so you can downgrade if things don't go well !
User avatar
Jumpeyspyder
Frequent Poster
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:34 am

Thank you all!
I think I will go with Sierra for now and update logic. Will buy a new mac sooner than later...
And yes I will back up everything like twice and make a startup clone of my current system drive.

Will let you know how it goes...

Cheers!
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby ConcertinaChap » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:18 am

Humble Bee wrote:And yes I will back up everything like twice

Old saying in computing that I use as a guide: data that doesn't exist in at least three places doesn't exist.

Cheers,

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6026
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Eddy Deegan » Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:38 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:
Humble Bee wrote:And yes I will back up everything like twice

Old saying in computing that I use as a guide: data that doesn't exist in at least three places doesn't exist.

Cheers,

CC

Speaking from a bitter experience in the distant past, a wistful memory of the data you used to have does not count as an existence of that data

:headbang:
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 958
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
The  man cave and some resulting works.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Guido3 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:09 pm

Humble Bee wrote:Hi all!

I am currently running Yosemite 10.10.5 on my MacBook Air

(13-inch, Mid 2012, 2 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR)

Am I pushing it all the way to Mojave or what?

Running Logic 10.2.4 (is this really old or what? It still does what I need)

Latest Logic requires OS X 10.12 minimum.


I have the same MBA as you. Mine is running High Sierra (10.13.6) with the latest version of Logic. My Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 Mk2 runs fine. I use the stock Logic X plug-ins, Pianoteq 6, Arturia V-Collection and some AAS stuff all of which run flawlessly. I won't be upgrading to Mojave though.
User avatar
Guido3
Regular
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Leicestershire
And Bagpuss, once he was asleep, was just a saggy old cloth cat.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users