You are here

Mojave or not...

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:41 pm

Hi all!

I am currently running Yosemite 10.10.5 on my MacBook Air

(13-inch, Mid 2012, 2 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR)

Am I pushing it all the way to Mojave or what?

Running Logic 10.2.4 (is this really old or what? It still does what I need)

Latest Logic requires OS X 10.12 minimum.

Is it worth the potential hassle?

Or may be it is hassle free! :beamup:
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:26 pm

My main box is on High Sierra, which came with a new machine in July and gave me little trouble installing software apart from Office 2011 which flatly refuses to run. However all our other machines (3 in total) are on Sierra which I have found remarkably trouble free when upgrading to it

My advice, FWIW, would be to upgrade to Sierra, which is actually quite nice and is still supported for another year. You can then take your time considering whether to upgrade further. Obviously check all your software for compatibility before doing the upgrade and backup fully so you can restore if necessary, but you probably don't need me to tell you that.

My personal policy is never to upgrade to the latest version of Mac OS, I always keep at least one behind, but never more that two behind because the OS would be out of support and that's something that makes me feel twitchy ...

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby desmond » Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:19 pm

Sierra +1
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8242
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Jumpeyspyder » Tue Oct 23, 2018 11:20 pm

I agree with CC & Desmond

But will add, its always a good plan to backup your whole drive (using something like Carbon copy clonor or Superduper) so you can downgrade if things don't go well !
User avatar
Jumpeyspyder
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:00 am
Location: Yorkshire

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:34 am

Thank you all!
I think I will go with Sierra for now and update logic. Will buy a new mac sooner than later...
And yes I will back up everything like twice and make a startup clone of my current system drive.

Will let you know how it goes...

Cheers!
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby ConcertinaChap » Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:18 am

Humble Bee wrote:And yes I will back up everything like twice

Old saying in computing that I use as a guide: data that doesn't exist in at least three places doesn't exist.

Cheers,

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6155
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Disclaimer: I don't claim to know anything at all.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Eddy Deegan » Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:38 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:
Humble Bee wrote:And yes I will back up everything like twice

Old saying in computing that I use as a guide: data that doesn't exist in at least three places doesn't exist.

Cheers,

CC

Speaking from a bitter experience in the distant past, a wistful memory of the data you used to have does not count as an existence of that data

:headbang:
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
The  man cave (currently unavailable while moving hosting providers) and some resulting works.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Guido3 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:09 pm

Humble Bee wrote:Hi all!

I am currently running Yosemite 10.10.5 on my MacBook Air

(13-inch, Mid 2012, 2 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR)

Am I pushing it all the way to Mojave or what?

Running Logic 10.2.4 (is this really old or what? It still does what I need)

Latest Logic requires OS X 10.12 minimum.


I have the same MBA as you. Mine is running High Sierra (10.13.6) with the latest version of Logic. My Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 Mk2 runs fine. I use the stock Logic X plug-ins, Pianoteq 6, Arturia V-Collection and some AAS stuff all of which run flawlessly. I won't be upgrading to Mojave though.
User avatar
Guido3
Regular
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Leicestershire
And Bagpuss, once he was asleep, was just a saggy old cloth cat.

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:07 am

Hello all good people!

I have finally taken the time to update to Sierra.

All went fine and the machine is running smoothly. Logic and UAD is updated and running great!

SuperDuper worked fine and I now have two backups and an archive. Great!

I used to run ONYX as a maintenance software. Is this still valid? Are there better ways/alternative software?

Any info is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for all the help! I am now relieved (until next time)!

:thumbup:
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby johnny h » Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:44 pm

If you’re going through the whole hassle of upgrading you might as well go for the latest version. Just hang back until you can confirm all the hardware / software you need is working.

Upgrading to an already old OS means you will be running into incompatibilities a lot sooner down the line.
johnny h
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3626
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:00 am

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:51 pm

johnny h wrote:If you’re going through the whole hassle of upgrading you might as well go for the latest version. Just hang back until you can confirm all the hardware / software you need is working.

Upgrading to an already old OS means you will be running into incompatibilities a lot sooner down the line.

Thanks Johnny!

Sierra is running the latest Logic proX so thats what we need.

Mojave will be forced upon me when I buy a new mini.

Cheers!
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby desmond » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:04 pm

Humble Bee wrote:SuperDuper worked fine and I now have two backups and an archive. Great!

:thumbup:

Humble Bee wrote:I used to run ONYX as a maintenance software. Is this still valid?

I don't think there is really a need for this. I too used to do this, but rarely bother these days - I only really break out maintenance tools if I suspect an issue, or for some particular reason.

Sierra is, I think, a good safe place for now - HS's new filesystem caused problems for some older software, so if you're running old legacy stuff, it's wise to be cautious with this I think. At least you now know how to backup a system drive, so at some future point, you can always *try* the effect of a new version of the OS without losing access to your existing smooth-running system, to evaluate it.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8242
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:17 pm

Thanks Desmond you know this stuff.

I will not bother with Onyx then.

Upgraded Paralells and got windows 7 running as before. Good. (I run Inventor 2013)

My MenuMeters app disappeared. :(

Is there any alternative?

Cheers!
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby blinddrew » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:33 pm

I'm just disappointed that we're about 15 comments in and no-one has made the 'to Mojave and have not...' joke yet.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5335
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby desmond » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:40 pm

Humble Bee wrote:My MenuMeters app disappeared. :(

Is there any alternative?

I had the same issue when I recently moved to Sierra!

There *is* a special version of MenuMeters compiled to run under Sierra, which I can try and dig out for you, but when I dealt with this, I took the opportunity to embrace change and move to something newer and better, and moved to iStat Menus - it's way better, but can be configured very similarly to MenuMeters (and that's what I did, but added in a few nice extras).

So I suggest that as a more modern alternative. :thumbup:
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8242
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:47 pm

Thanks again Desmond. I'll check that iStat out.

:thumbup:
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Mixedup » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:51 pm

I had to move from one MBP to another due to the old one ceasing to work. It was not a happy experience. The Yosemite Carbon Copy bootable backup wouldn't work with the new machine. And Apple's Migration Assistant is like a bad joke — it took the best part of a day to transfer data I could have done manually in about 2 hours, and then crapped out and failed to transfer any of the apps, network settings etc.

Long story short, I ended up going for a clean Mojave installation, reinstalling and authorising all software from scratch (and upgrading what no longer works with Mojave...), and copying any data I wanted direct from my Time Machine backup. After about three or four days I'm up and running again. :beamup:

On the plus side Mojave actually seems like a decent stable OS... once you've disabled half the pointless crap and changed the default settings to sensible ones, and recalibrated the screen so it's rather less orange than the factory 'calibration'. And at least you only have to do this every 5 years or so...
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4217
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Laputa

Re: Mojave or not...

Postby Humble Bee » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:57 pm

You're a brave man Mixedup! :thumbup:

iStat Menues looks really good. Thats what we need! :thumbup:

Cheers!
User avatar
Humble Bee
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Switzerland/Germany/Sweden


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users