You are here

Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby AndyN » Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:11 pm

Hi All,

I am thinking about adding a second monitor (visual) to my system but by the time the cables go around the room they will need to be about 15-20 ft long. My computer is a late 2013 iMac with a mini-display port output. I have read that the quality of signal reduces after about 10 ft. What would be my best option? I only want to mirror the primary display.

Thanks

Andy

Just realised that this should have gone in the Mac forum - sorry. Not sure how to change it.
AndyN
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby zenguitar » Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:40 pm

I've moved it for you :thumbup:

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 9122
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Devon
When you see a fork in the road, take it.
Yogi Berra

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby Ramirez » Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:43 pm

zenguitar wrote:I've moved it for you :thumbup:

Andy :beamup:

The whole 20ft?
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby Wonks » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:46 pm

Just halfway. Now you only need two 10' cables so everything's fine!
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8612
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby AndyN » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:23 pm

Thanks Andy, you mods always go the extra mile - which is more than can be said for my cable!
AndyN
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby ef37a » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:45 pm

From what I read, HDMI cables up to 5mtr are of basic construction and work well.
For a 10mtr cable the wire diameter should be increased to reduce losses, so more expensive even than twice a 5mtr jobby. It seems up to 15mtr or so can be used without issues?

Does the remote monitor have a MD port? If not you will need an adaptor to get to HDMI. I bought one for my son's Lenovo laptop, worked fine.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10217
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby AndyN » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:25 pm

Thanks Dave, I shall look into that. I haven't decided on a monitor yet but am looking into the feasibility of it.

Andy
AndyN
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby ef37a » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:37 pm

AndyN wrote:Thanks Dave, I shall look into that. I haven't decided on a monitor yet but am looking into the feasibility of it.

Andy

Right, I have found there IS such a thing as a monitor with a Mini Display port input but the cables are expensive compared to HDMI (which is everywhere and you can buy in line couplers from B&Q!) so I would adapt up to HDMI and buy from Rock Bottom!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10217
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Best way to add a second monitor 20ft from the main computer

Postby MarkOne » Tue Feb 26, 2019 4:32 pm

when we had a ceiling mounted HD projector set up in our old house I happily ran a 10m HDMI through the ceiling and down to the AV distribution amp with no problems.

I don't even think it was a particularly expensive HDMI, we just got whatever Screwfix had on the weekend we did the installation.

Some things are just fussier than others... For instance our Sky box didn't like a cheapo 1m HDMI going to the same AV amp and would only work with a stupidly overpriced one where the very same cheapo cable was fine with the BluRay player... Go figure
MarkOne
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Bristol, England, Earth, Perseus Gap, Milky Way
Debut Album 'Fantasy Bridge' available now!


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users