You are here

new features on Logic audio channel strip

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby kinglouis » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:11 pm

Hi all,

My Mac has just self-updated, I've noticed that above the Setting bar on the audio channel strip in Logic there are now some new features: low shelf, invert polarity and '48' all in little square boxes. Nothing happens if I click on them, am I missing a trick or two? I'm run-in 10.4.5.

Cheers,

Alex

https://imgur.com/h72H4yc
User avatar
kinglouis
Regular
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:00 am

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby desmond » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:17 pm

They only work if your audio interface supports those features - they are effectively remote controls for the actual hardware you are using.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8992
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby kinglouis » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:21 pm

Ah great! Thanks Desmond. Is there a list of compatible interfaces anywhere? I'm using a back-up Scarlett 18i8 whilst my Apollo is in the garage just now.
User avatar
kinglouis
Regular
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:00 am

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby desmond » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:34 pm

It's up to the audio interface drivers what features they expose.

These things were originally written (and work with) Apogee interfaces, but some other interfaces support these controls as well - eg for inbuilt audio, you just get a gain control, which is the same as the systems input gain control - it varies according to what device you have as your selected driver.

I don't think the Focusrite drivers support those things, so you can just turn them off so you don't see them.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8992
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby kinglouis » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:38 pm

Gotcha. Understood, thank you Desmond.
User avatar
kinglouis
Regular
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:00 am

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby jbastienmusic » Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:03 pm

They have been there for awhile now. If you open up the mixer and go to "View" (in the mixer, not at the top of the mac screen) "Channel Strip Components" - Audio Device Controls. That is the option to view or hide that feature.
User avatar
jbastienmusic
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:32 pm

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby desmond » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:35 pm

jbastienmusic wrote:They have been there for awhile now. If you open up the mixer and go to "View" (in the mixer, not at the top of the mac screen) "Channel Strip Components" - Audio Device Controls. That is the option to view or hide that feature.

Originally many of these controls were added to support Apogee interfaces some years ago back when Apple and Apogee were buddies.

But recently (last couple of sub-versions of Logic) this feature was extended to support more hardware and options, which is why they've come back.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8992
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: new features on Logic audio channel strip

Postby ConcertinaChap » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:30 pm

UAD Apollos don't support Audio Device Controls yet. :( Pity as I'd use them if they did.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7753
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
If you want me I'll be down on Sound on Sound on Sound.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users