You are here

Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

Page 1 of 1

Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:49 pm
by Dr Huge Longjohns
Does anybody else despair with the way Waves now interacts with Logic? I tried to run a demo and it refuses to show in Logic at all. Ran through the Waves recommended troubleshooting and now I've lost my most-used Waves plugin (H-Comp, as you ask). It's there in the folders but has disappeared from Logic's plugin lists. And it means you have to completely configure your Logic plugin manager as it wipes all your prefs. To say I'm not impressed with Waves is the understatement of all time, helpful as their tech support has tried to be and fantastic as many of their products are. But I'm never buying another of their plugs as long as I live. Life is just too short. I don't have these sorts of problems with any other plug company. They're now saying 'uninstall everything and reinstall'. The online tech support of switch it off and on again. I'm scared to do this in case I end up with even more plugins I've spent a fortune on going missing in action. Grrrrrrrrr is not the word. Rant over, any ideas anyone?

:madas: :madas: :madas:

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:11 pm
by desmond
Ok, Waves have never been too clear in their installs, but here goes - it's worked liked this for a long time (probably Waves V4.x onwards).

Unlike most plugins, Waves plugins don't individually go in the plugin folder. Only one "Waveshell" plug is installed there. The rest of the Waves plugins get installed under the Waves folder somewhere.

What this means is that the system never sees Waves plugins directly. So, in order to *tell* the system of all the Waves plugins (added, removed, whatever), there is a utility in the Waves folder (eg "/Applications/Waves/Waveshells V10/") called "Waves AU Reg Utility xx). Run this, and it collects the info of all installed Waves plugins and updates the system with all available plugins.

You might need to reboot your system as High Sierra onwards have a bug in which they often don't see newly instaled plugins until a reboot (or other faff).

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:17 pm
by Dr Huge Longjohns
Thinking about this, could I use Time Machine to go back to the Waves setup I had before? Could I just go back to a previous Waves Applications folder, for example? I trashed the Waves prefs folder from the library but kept it just in case, too? So could I bring back an older version of the Waves App folder then reinstall the Prefs folder, or something? Would that work??

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:21 pm
by Dr Huge Longjohns
Run this, and it collects the info of all installed Waves plugins and updates the system with all available plugins.

You might need to reboot your system as High Sierra onwards have a bug in which they often don't see newly instaled plugins until a reboot (or other faff).

Thanks, D, posts crossed. I ran the utility already and no joy. And yes, usually log out and back in when I load a new plug. You don't have to do a full restart normally but I did one just in case here!

But there's a terminal thing you can use to sort out v9 and v10 clashes which I've used before. It's not strictly an issue here but I suppose running it can do no harm??? Perhaps?

Also, I've got multiple waveshell versions in the Waves folder. Should I trash the older ones? They are all v10 but it's obviously loaded new ones when I've added new V10 plugs I guess?

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:26 pm
by desmond
Dr Huge Longjohns wrote:Thinking about this, could I use Time Machine to go back to the Waves setup I had before? Could I just go back to a previous Waves Applications folder, for example? I trashed the Waves prefs folder from the library but kept it just in case, too? So could I bring back an older version of the Waves App folder then reinstall the Prefs folder, or something? Would that work??

Well I don't know what you've done (people start deleting all kinds of stuff when frustrated, it's hard to know what damage they are doing.)

I don't see why you couldn't restore those files from whatever backup system you use, so it's worth a go.

Dr Huge Longjohns wrote:And yes, usually log out and back in when I load a new plug. You don't have to do a full restart normally but I did one just in case here!

Yes, I know. I usualy use the terminal command but it's easier to just say reboot for brevity's sake.

Dr Huge Longjohns wrote:But there's a terminal thing you can use to sort out v9 and v10 clashes which I've used before. It's not strictly an issue here but I suppose running it can do no harm??? Perhaps?

That seems like you're randomly running some tool without knowing what it does or whether it applies to your system, in the hope that it magicly fixes it? Is that's what happening for you? A clash with V9 and V10 plugins?

Dr Huge Longjohns wrote:Also, I've got multiple waveshell versions in the Waves folder. Should I trash the older ones? They are all v10 but it's obviously loaded new ones when I've added new V10 plugs I guess?

Well, I'd suggest to *move* them and check to see if everything works ok, rather than just randomly trashing them. If everything still works, then it's probably fine, and all plugins are using the latest version. But you might have specific plugins that require specific Waveshell versions. It's all a bit of a mess with Waves stuff, in general...

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:31 pm
by Dr Huge Longjohns
Well I don't know what you've done (people start deleting all kinds of stuff when frustrated, it's hard to know what damage they are doing.)

Nothing random, I was following the waves advice point by point. This involved trashing Apple's plug in cache and the Waves pref folder, both from the Library folder. Otherwise nothing has changed since I tried to get the demo to run and then lost the existing plug. This is what I did:

Step #2 – Rescan for Plugins

If the relevant plugin files are in the above folders, restart your computer, launch Logic and see if the issue persists.

If the issue persists, perform a rescan:

Quit Logic.In Finder, click on the Go menu, hold down the [Alt/Option] key and click on Library.Go to Caches > AudioUnitsCache and move com.apple.audiounits.cache to your desktop.In the same Library, now go to Preferences and move the Waves Preferences folder to your desktop.Go to Macintosh HD > Applications > Waves > Waveshells V10 and run the Waves AU Reg Utility*.Click on Let’s Go.If asked to Locate the Waves Plugins Folder, direct to Macintosh HD > Applications > Waves > Plug-Ins V10.Launch Logic, go to Logic > Preferences > Plug-ins Manager.
Make sure your Waves plugins are check-marked. If they are not, highlight all Waves listings and click Reset & Rescan Selection.
* When there is more than one Waves AU Reg Utility V10 file in the Waveshells V10 folder, apply steps 6 & 7 for all Waves AU Reg Utility versions.

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:36 pm
by Dr Huge Longjohns
Is that's what happening for you? A clash with V9 and V10 plugins?

Not as far as I can see but who knows with Waves.

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:47 am
by Dr Huge Longjohns
In case any else is following this or having similar issues, I have now completely uninstalled everything Waves and reinstalled everything as directed by their tech support. So now I have no Waves plugs whatsoever.

So am waiting for them to tell me what to do next but I suspect it will be to re-run the AU Reg utilities. Again. FFS.

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:09 pm
by Dr Huge Longjohns
Yes, had to re-run the au utilities...you have to run all the version in the folders, six in my case. This is clearly ludicrous. But anyway, everything back now.

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:55 pm
by ManFromGlass
Good to know there is a fix.
My greatest fear is ilok related. I hate ilok but have 2 progs that have to use it. I am mentally prepared for ilok to go down when I need it most.

Re: Waves and Logic ... pulling my hair out

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:58 pm
by MOF
I had a similar problem whereby Logic said certain Waves plugins weren’t registered, even though Waves own app’ showed they were registered on my computer and not waiting in the cloud to be moved onto my computer.
It took a long time to sort out, I eventually deleted every vestige of Waves and then re-installed the relevant V9 and V10 plugins I’d bought.
As a side note I’ve had problems with updates for Pro tools, I get a notification that an update is available but then go round in circles trying to get it. I don’t use it anymore as I bought it with a view to learning it and using the AIR plugins but since then I’ve gone down the UAD route and lost interest in Pro tools.