You are here

Mouse + Menu bug ?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby Gone To Lunch » Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:14 pm

Sometimes when I click a menu item, in an app or OS X, it flashes very quickly but is not selected, ie the chosen item does not sustain, so I have to re-click 4-5 times, or hold and drag to go down the menu to select ?
Gone To Lunch
Frequent Poster
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:00 am
Location: London

Re: Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby IAA » Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:20 pm

I’d check your mouse click settings first off. Then, depending on type of mouse give it a good clean!
IAA
Frequent Poster
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby Gone To Lunch » Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:55 pm

I am now on my 3rd replacement mouse, and it has started happening again ?
Gone To Lunch
Frequent Poster
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:00 am
Location: London

Re: Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby Gone To Lunch » Sun May 10, 2020 5:13 pm

I ran the disk repair utility and then seems to have fixed it.
Gone To Lunch
Frequent Poster
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:00 am
Location: London

Re: Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby Gone To Lunch » Sun May 24, 2020 2:29 pm

It is back again.

I have re-installed the OS, and run disk repair utility, but it is still back.

Making the Mac ever more difficult to use.

I am getting desperate now.
Gone To Lunch
Frequent Poster
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:00 am
Location: London

Re: Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby Kwackman » Sun May 24, 2020 4:12 pm

Weird!
Sorry to ask this, but have you checked the mouse settings in system preferences?
I'd a mouse do similar on the right click button a few days ago, but that was a faulty mouse, a replacement cured it.

Hopefully someone more mac savvy will be along shortly...
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1862
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Mouse + Menu bug ?

Postby Gone To Lunch » Mon May 25, 2020 11:27 pm

Kwackman wrote:Sorry to ask this, but have you checked the mouse settings in system preferences?
I'd a mouse do similar on the right click button a few days ago, but that was a faulty mouse, a replacement cured it.

Yes, repeatedly. Including changing them a notch or two, testing, then re-setting. Still doesn't fix it.

I am now on my recently purchased 3rd mouse.

I am now thinking 'could it be incipient hard disk failure?' as my rust spinner is 10 years old, light home use, because when I dismount it to run the utility repair, that stops it for a few days.

But if run the utility repair while it is still mounted, it doesn't work.

Before anyone asks, it is 500gb, about 1/3 empty, so lots of space.

All suggestions welcome!
Gone To Lunch
Frequent Poster
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:00 am
Location: London