You are here

MAC hard drive update

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

MAC hard drive update

Postby DanielBeach » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:33 pm

Hi All,

I've been hanging around these forums for 20 years, with the odd post. It seems this week there's been a couple from me -- wonder why...?

My iMac is 6 years old, and has been struggling a lot. I've checked for viruses, malware, etc., and have narrowed it down, I THINK, to the hard drive being unable to cope with the latest version of MacOS. I've reinstalled High Sierra, as it copes "okay" with this, and Logic Pro X is stable enough under it. If I wind back another couple of MacOS versions, the computer becomes quite fast again. (8GB RAM by the way)

I'm going to get an SSD drive. But two quick questions for those with experience:

1. I assume that I can run a mac from an external drive, and effectively just "ignore" the internal one?

2. If I installed the latest MacOS and ran it from the external, I assume I'd be able to still access data on the internal drive? And, I wonder, would it be possible to run programs already installed on the internal drive, or would this effectively be a "new install" and runtime programs from the old drive rendered mute, so to speak?

Many thanks!

Daniel
DanielBeach
Regular

Re: MAC hard drive update

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:37 pm

Yes it should work, and you should be able to reinstall the apps on the new drive. You may even be able to clone the old drive onto the new.

But, my 2012 MBP is running High Sierra without problems.

And, the slowing down is probably not the internal HDD if older OSX versions run faster than HS (though an SSD will definitely speed things up).
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Postby DanielBeach » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:41 pm

Thanks for the reply.