You are here

Workflow....

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Workflow....

Postby DanielBeach » Thu May 21, 2020 8:59 pm

Hi,

A bit of an open-ended and random question here, but if anybody wants to share their thoughts/processes I'd be grateful for any help or suggestions.

I'm a professional musician, but an amateur (although relatively knowledgeable) as far as music tech goes. I have produced a couple of albums, but simple stuff.

In 'real life' I mainly work in Musical Theatre and education, so it's useful to be able to produce good backing tracks.

My current workflow is maybe not as good as it could be:

I mainly use an external MIDI keyboard to programme into Logic Pro X in real time, and then edit afterwards. (Current controller is Impact LX88+ (it's okay but, as a professional pianist, rather lacking in the touch and velocity control department.)

I'm working on various very diverse projects, from a podcast music commission to a sample-library based full orchestral backing of the "Major General's Song" from Pirates of Penzance. It's a varied life....

For the orchestral stuff, I seem to spend AGES after playing going through and tweaking note velocities one by one in the Piano roll. As far as more "modern" styles go, stuff which is beat/pattern/song based, I still tend to input stuff in the same kind of way.

I wonder if anybody has any suggestions of other ways of doing things, from their own experience, which I could try out? Or thoughts on how I'm doing things, and any really obvious suggestions about shortcuts and easier ways of doing what I do?!

Many thanks,

Daniel
DanielBeach
Regular

Re: Workflow....

Postby desmond » Thu May 21, 2020 9:32 pm

DanielBeach wrote:For the orchestral stuff, I seem to spend AGES after playing going through and tweaking note velocities one by one in the Piano roll.