You are here

Subwoofer only connection

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Subwoofer only connection

Postby Sanjeev Srivastav » Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:14 pm

Can I connect just a subwoofer (no speakers) to my Macbook Air. I tried it with RCA cable to the headphone jack but just got the faint sound from the subwoofer at the highest volume. Also connected it thru audio interface but the result is same.
Sanjeev Srivastav
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby blinddrew » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:13 pm

What kind of subwoofer do you have?
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10863
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby monospace » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:14 pm

Pretty sure you are going to need an amp to drive your subwoofer.
Something like this:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07L4 ... UTF8&psc=1
User avatar
monospace
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:00 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:19 pm

Sanjeev Srivastav wrote:Can I connect just a subwoofer (no speakers) to my Macbook Air.

Yes... Probably.

You just need to make sure the output level and connection format of the Mac's headphone socket is compatible with the input Level and connection format of the subwoofer.

I can't help you with that as you've not provided any information about the sunwoofer. Are you sure the sub's input is line level?

I tried it with RCA cable to the headphone jack but just got the faint sound from the subwoofer at the highest volume.

The headphone socket is stereo and an RCA plug is mono... Or was it a dual-RCA cable?

Of course, a sub only reproduces the lowest octave, so you'd need some material that had some decent low end content...
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27910
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby Sanjeev Srivastav » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:07 pm

blinddrew wrote:What kind of subwoofer do you have?
Its NICOLE Amplified Speaker System (FP9903) 20W.
Sanjeev Srivastav
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby Sanjeev Srivastav » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:15 pm

monospace wrote:Pretty sure you are going to need an amp to drive your subwoofer.
Something like this:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07L4 ... UTF8&psc=1
Written on the subwoofer-" Amplified stereo system". Do I still need an amplifier.
Sanjeev Srivastav
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby Sanjeev Srivastav » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:24 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:
Sanjeev Srivastav wrote:Can I connect just a subwoofer (no speakers) to my Macbook Air.

Are you sure the sub's input is line level?
The headphone socket is stereo and an RCA plug is mono... Or was it a dual-RCA cable?

Its a NICOLE Amplified Speaker System Subwoofer(FP9903) 20 W, with only a power button and 2 white and 2 Red female sockets in the back saying 'INPUT'. I used 3.5mm to 2-Male RCA Adapter Cable.
Sanjeev Srivastav
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby monospace » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:57 pm

Sanjeev Srivastav wrote:
monospace wrote:Pretty sure you are going to need an amp to drive your subwoofer.
Something like this:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07L4 ... UTF8&psc=1
Written on the subwoofer-" Amplified stereo system". Do I still need an amplifier.

If you're using ONLY the subwoofer and not the rest of this "amplified stereo system" (which presumably contains the amp to drive said subwoofer) then yes, you most likely will need an amp.
User avatar
monospace
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:00 am
Location: New Jersey

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby blinddrew » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:36 pm

If it's a sub-satellite system then the amp is more likely to be in the sub.
I can't find any detail on the model so if the OP could post a link to a manual or even a couple of photos that would help.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10863
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby Sanjeev Srivastav » Tue Jul 14, 2020 2:27 pm

blinddrew wrote:If it's a sub-satellite system then the amp is more likely to be in the sub.
I can't find any detail on the model so if the OP could post a link to a manual or even a couple of photos that would help.
[img

Sorry so new to this forum..Can you please tell me how to upload a photo here.
Sanjeev Srivastav
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Subwoofer only connection

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Jul 14, 2020 2:40 pm

The forum doesn't host images so you need to use something like imgur and use the appropriate link.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12966
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........