You are here

Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby Luke W » Wed Dec 02, 2020 1:08 pm

Alanqa wrote:I mostly use Logic as a glorified tape machine. I do use ez drummer and an old copy of ik multimedia miroslav occasionally but I don't really use the integrated synths and instruments much, not enough to miss them.

I had not heard of Reaper and I am wondering if it is the way to go for me.

If that's the case you may well find something like Reaper will do the trick.
User avatar
Luke W
Frequent Poster
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Studio - Techical Audio Services - Bespoke Construction

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby blinddrew » Wed Dec 02, 2020 1:22 pm

You can download Reaper as a free trial and it's a full-fat version so it costs you nowt to give it a go.
But you may find the change in DAW and learning curve justifies sticking with Logic.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12932
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby Alanqa » Wed Dec 02, 2020 1:51 pm

Well I definitely have time on my hands, so I can watch all the tutorial videos.

Well, thank you for your help everyone. I've been a fan of SOS almost since it started. I worked with Paul White in Ely at music maker publications and in a few weeks learned more about recording from Paul than I had the previous 5 years or even the following 30!
Alanqa
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 8:07 am

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Dec 02, 2020 2:21 pm

I'm a Reaper user and, like you use it mostly as a glorified tape recorder. I have a Behringer X32 Compact which serves as my audio interface so most of the mixing process takes place in the X32. But, to paraphrase Drew, the most intuitive DAW is the one you already know how to work, so Logic may well be the best option.

As Drew also says, the trial of Reaper is fully functioning, does not expire after the 60 day trial period ends and, if you can live with a 5 second countdown on the nag screen before you can 'continue evaluating', you could carry on using it indefinitely. Though with a licence costing £60 I can't see why you wouldn't buy one if Reaper works for you.

Cakewalk is free but, IIRC, Windows only.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14556
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Still taking this recording lark seriously (and trying to record my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby tea for two » Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:19 pm

Alanqa wrote:My 9 year old iMac has finally bitten the dust. Stuck in an endless reboot sequence. I tried the power/command/r but the wireless keyboard won't hold power long enough to do anything. I have a USB pc keyboard but that didn't work either.
I spoke to a Mac repair specialist and he said it was likely to be a faulty gpu and I'd need a new computer.

Firstly, is there anything I can do to save the iMac?

Secondly, if not, will I be able to run my existing software if I got a Mac mini m1?

I have Logic 9, ez drummer, I k multimedia miroslav (1) and melodyne.

Any help gratefully received

I still have L9 on Snow Leopard on my mbp2010.
L9 didn't work so well crashed on Lion 10.7 for me even though I installed the patch.

And since Mac's won't run any OS older than the one it shipped with I can't install L9 on anything other than latest Snowy 10.6.8 I'm stuck on 2010mbp.

I tried to bring projects from L9 into LX yet even with legacy sounds there were many sounds that just wasn't ported.

And there are tracks I made 10years earlier on L9 i don't cringe at that's main reason I'm keeping L9 on Snowy 10.6.8 and stuck on my 2010mbp

:::::

Incidentally I don't have this issue with my latest windows machines as I have old cakewalk sonar XL from 2003 running on windowsX in windows7 compatibility emulation mode.
tea for two
Frequent Poster
Posts: 863
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 1:00 am

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby desmond » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:29 am

tea for two wrote:I tried to bring projects from L9 into LX yet even with legacy sounds there were many sounds that just wasn't ported.

There's nothing LP9 will load that won't load in LPX, all of the legacy content going back to LP5 and before will load, any LP9 project that has assets (patches, instruments, samples etc) will load.

It's true that some old LP7 and before content was phased out in later versions of Logic and now isn't available in the legacy content downloads for new users, but if you still have that content installed on your system, or the install media for it, it will all work just fine in LPX.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10846
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Will Logic 9 run on a new Mac?

Postby tea for two » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:32 am

desmond wrote:
tea for two wrote:I tried to bring projects from L9 into LX yet even with legacy sounds there were many sounds that just wasn't ported.

There's nothing LP9 will load that won't load in LPX, all of the legacy content going back to LP5 and before will load, any LP9 project that has assets (patches, instruments, samples etc) will load.

It's true that some old LP7 and before content was phased out in later versions of Logic and now isn't available in the legacy content downloads for new users, but if you still have that content installed on your system, or the install media for it, it will all work just fine in LPX.

I will give it another go. Fingers crossed.
tea for two
Frequent Poster
Posts: 863
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 1:00 am

Previous