You are here

Stereo screen capture

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Moderator: Moderators

Stereo screen capture

Postby MadManDan » Sun Dec 13, 2020 1:08 am

Hi. I've been using quicktime for my screen capture. It's built in and I'm happy with it except it records audio in mono. Anybody know of better programs that record in stereo? Would help my workflow.

Thanks, MadManDan
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby MadManDan » Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:21 am

Forgot to mention I've also tried Mac's built in screen capture. Also mono.
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby desmond » Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:25 am

In QT you can choose the audio source you are recording, and it includes stereo sources. I can’t see why it would mix these to mono, but haven’t tried.

You can record the audio separately of course, or invest in something a little slicker like Screenflow...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10871
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby Murray B » Sun Dec 13, 2020 10:41 am

Have a look here - you'll need to expand the answer thread but it looks like it's a setting issue rather than the capability of Quicktime

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7798292
User avatar
Murray B
Regular
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Staffordshire

Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby MadManDan » Mon Dec 14, 2020 7:39 am

Thanks, I took a look at that thread

As with all internet research, there are so many interfaces out there that they all come up differently.

But I went through what I believe is every setting available, and did not see it.

This is what quick time looks like before I capture. And no, there are no more audio related options here.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SN44J4 ... sp=sharing

This is my system preferences>sound>input

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZtqSCw ... sp=sharing

And my sys pref>sound>output

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1udLrKh ... sp=sharing

utility>audio midi>input

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YmGd5e ... sp=sharing

utility>aud mid>output

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CUV5Kj ... sp=sharing

Not sure if I'm missing anything...or need something better. Anyone out there actually using quick time on a mac and capturing in stereo? This is catalina, so being up to date is not an issue. No sur.
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Stereo screen capture SORTED

Postby MadManDan » Thu Dec 24, 2020 5:48 pm

After some searching I finally found a really smart economical solution. $35.

https://www.araelium.com/screenflick-ma ... n-recorder

Records in stereo, streams directly to disk. Which is great. I believe quicktime only fills ram. Which became a problem for me when I maxed my ram out trying to record past 90 min. And That was only with mono audio.

So after streaming to disk it will let you save in a large variety of file formats/densities.

Best thing about screen flick is it takes inputs seriously. Quick time recorded a weird unpredictable mash of system audio and interface input....I would routinely have to check that my phantom was turned off to prevent unwanted mic recording :headbang: Screen flick actually has a panel controlling interface inputs and system sound, with the ability to split left and right. Neat, huh?

I am pretty sure there are no down sides to it. When have a chance to do really thorough testing I'll report back

Mmd
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby MadManDan » Fri Jan 01, 2021 8:51 pm

Update: This screenflick app is actually 4 channel. YES, FOUR CHANNEL. It can simultaneously record the system output and inputs 1/2. Then, upon rendering, you can adjust the mix between the two stereo pairs. Simply render twice. Love it. The next time I make an instructional video, this will be a game changer. I can record cubase's mix and my narration in one shot, chop it up, and fix it in post.
User avatar
MadManDan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Across the pond....New Yawk

Late '14 mini 3 GHz i7 16 GB
Catalina 10.15.7. Glyph atomic. FF Scarlet 18i8. 
Sup Drum 3. Cubase 11 Pro
iCon iKb 8x.  Mics, spkrs, 'phones, gtrs, greedy cat


Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby ef37a » Sat Jan 02, 2021 9:57 am

Oooo! Is there anything similar for Win 10 please?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12470
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Stereo screen capture

Postby The Elf » Sat Jan 02, 2021 3:38 pm

ef37a wrote:Oooo! Is there anything similar for Win 10 please?
OBS. You can record as many sources as your PC can cope with.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15803
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.