You are here

New Mac for Jazz recording

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby desmond » Tue Jan 26, 2021 8:03 pm

twotoedsloth wrote:I'm not sure I understand you here Desmond, when you say "Don't buy any other Mac running Intel chips at this point in time, fwiw... Unless you *want* fan noise, and overheating..."

Sorry, I thought that was fairly clear.

- Anything other than the current/latest Air or 13" MBP have Intel chips in them.
- Don't buy them.
- They are power hungry, hot, slow, and will make the fans run.

If you do get one of the current machines, you'll need to check compatability for both Big Sur and the M1 chip with whatever software you want to use. But your Mac expert should be able to guide you through all this if you're not sure of what's what. :thumbup:
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11424
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby twotoedsloth » Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:40 pm

Thanks very much.

I will insist on an M1 based 13" Macbook Pro with 16 gigs of RAM.

I trust that Logic will work out of the box? We will eventually want to run Pro Tools (not my choice), but to record student recitals Logic will do just fine for now.

Much appreciated.

Peter
twotoedsloth
Frequent Poster
Posts: 876
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:00 am

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby desmond » Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:53 pm

Yes, Logic 10.6.x will work out of the box.

Check compatibility with your audio interface though.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11424
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby MOF » Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:57 pm

Yes, Logic 10.6.x will work out of the box.

Check compatibility with your audio interface though.

And any third party plugins within Logic.
I did however see one video where he ran eveything in Rosetta mode, they all worked and it (M1 MBP 13”) was still very fast.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1534
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby desmond » Wed Jan 27, 2021 7:07 pm

MOF wrote:And any third party plugins within Logic.

Indeed, third-party plugin support on Big Sur is still early days. However, for recording purposes, it's probably not too much of an issue.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11424
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby twotoedsloth » Thu Jan 28, 2021 5:46 pm

Thanks everyone for your advice.

Quick question: Does a new Macbook only run Big Sur? Or can it be rolled back to Catalina (or earlier)?

Best wishes,

Peter
twotoedsloth
Frequent Poster
Posts: 876
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:00 am

Re: New Mac for Jazz recording

Postby desmond » Thu Jan 28, 2021 5:49 pm

Big Sur only - it's a completely new hardware architecture, previous OS's will not work on completely different hardware.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11424
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Previous