You are here

Duplicate audio CD?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:18 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Cost? :blush:

Precisely. So simple a task should be in the OS. Or so I thought.

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9805
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Every disaster movie starts with a scientist ignored.

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby Kwackman » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:23 pm

ConcertinaChap wrote:You're missing two things: CD-text (including such esoterica as ISRC codes) and inter-track spacing.
OK, although I'm pretty sure the inter track spacing can be adjusted, and track titles etc will be written to the CD. You got me on the ISRC though!
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2186
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Belfast
Cubase, guitars.

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby CS70 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:24 pm

Just in case I was too cryptic, Nero is the name of a software which used to be one of the go-to when ripping was common. Once you have an ISO image you should be able to burn it directly on another disk.

Obviously you cannot make actual CDs at home, only burn CD-R and CD-RW but that you know already.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7716
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby desmond » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:30 pm

CS70 wrote:Just in case I was too cryptic, Nero is the name of a software which used to be one of the go-to when ripping was common. Once you have an ISO image you should be able to burn it directly on another disk.

Yes, but Nero was PC only. Toast was the Mac equivalent. And yes, there are ways to make images and reburn that, I've used disk utility and other tools for these purposes a lot, but CC says this didn't work for him, and I can't check at the moment...

The best I can suggest right now without committing myself to investigate (too much on my plate right now to do that) is to google around and see what suggestions come up. It's not that this can't be done, it's that CC is unwilling to pay the required cost for a set of tools that easily solve that problem, so will have to sniff around for some less easy but much cheaper tools, which I'm sure exist...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11424
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby CS70 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:34 pm

Yeah, just helpful n case CC’s got a pc available..
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7716
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:05 pm

I've used Nero back in my PC days, but it's a cost option that would be difficult to justify even if it ran on Macs, like Toast and the rest.

Desmond, thanks for the thought but I'd prefer you not to spend time on it even if you had the time free. It's not worth it for 15 CDs. I'll set it up in Quattro and then if my friend wants more I'll be able to do it without effort. I was just hoping there was something obvious and easy that I was missing, but seemingly not.

Thanks all,

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9805
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bradford on Avon
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
Every disaster movie starts with a scientist ignored.

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby The Elf » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:02 pm

James Perrett wrote:CC is on a Mac.
Ah... :beamup:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16542
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby James Perrett » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:20 pm

When I was more heavily involved with CD Burning technology it was interesting that much of the software was written by a small clique of mostly German software engineers who were mainly PC based. You'd find the same names involved with all sorts of different companies. That's probably why all of the free or cheap software is PC only.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10535
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby paul tha other » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:29 am

dosnt waveburner do this?? it used to come with logic ,dunno if it still does but could you not import the disc image as a ddp or something and burn from the images ,hopefuly retaining the cd text etc??
paul tha other
Frequent Poster
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 12:00 am
Location: scotland
http://www.myspace.com/onemanandalaptop

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby desmond » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:35 am

You haven’t been able to run Waveburner for years. I think Sierra was the last OS that would run on, or possibly the one before...

And no, copying CDs was not what Waveburner did anyway...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11424
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby BigRedX » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:41 am

If you already have DSP-Quattro, then re-creating the CDs will probably be the easiest method. You've probably already spent longer researching shortcuts then the time it would have taken to do it this way, especially if you only have a few CDs to copy.

You don't need to use anything to rip the files from the audio CD. Simply open the audio CD in Finder and drag the tracks into a folder on your HD/SSD. This will make a 44.1kHz 16bit AIFF file of each track.

The custom pauses between tracks should be included in the audio file at the end of each track - the pause between track 1 and 2 will be shown as silence at the end of track 1 - so you shouldn't need to recreate these. The only thing that might be a problem is if there is a "hidden" track at the START of the CD. I've never owned a CD with one of these so I don't know how it will appear in the Finder version of the CD.

Reassemble the CD in DSP-Quattro and add in any CD Text and ISRC codes and you are done.

Hope that helps.
User avatar
BigRedX
Frequent Poster
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:00 am
RockinRollin' VampireMan

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby paul tha other » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:51 am

i wasnt sure...its been years since i did any cd stuff..now that i think about it i think waveburner's ddp stuff was flakey.
its all a fuzzy memory now
paul tha other
Frequent Poster
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 12:00 am
Location: scotland
http://www.myspace.com/onemanandalaptop

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby BigRedX » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:55 am

paul tha other wrote:i wasnt sure...its been years since i did any cd stuff..now that i think about it i think waveburner's ddp stuff was flakey.
its all a fuzzy memory now

I can't recall Waveburner ever being able to read or create DDP files. I actually switched to DSP-Quattro about 18 months ago because despite the fact that Waveburner still ran on my system back then, I needed to be able to create a DDP file for my band's promotional CD duplication run.
User avatar
BigRedX
Frequent Poster
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:00 am
RockinRollin' VampireMan

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby paul tha other » Thu Feb 25, 2021 12:12 pm

it had an option to "save ddp image" if i remember correctly but im pretty sure it didnt really work..it was one of those "it looks like its working" but sadly it not
paul tha other
Frequent Poster
Posts: 677
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 12:00 am
Location: scotland
http://www.myspace.com/onemanandalaptop

Re: Duplicate audio CD?

Postby James Perrett » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:48 pm

I was checking something else out just now and happened to notice that one of the options on Reaper's import menu was .cda files. Now .cda files are normally placeholders that Windows displays when you insert an audio CD rather than actual audio so I thought I'd try it out.

It turns out that Reaper is smart enough to take the .cda files and use them to extract the associated audio from the CD and store them in the default format for the project. Unfortunately it doesn't extract the metadata at the same time. Hopefully the Mac version does something similar.

You can then add metadata and ISRC's in Reaper before creating a DDP or Cue/Bin file which can be burned by third party tools - I find this useful

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php?p ... tcount=294

This probably won't help the OP as he can do the same thing already in DSP Quattro but for those on a Mac without DSP Quattro this would be an alternative method.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10535
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

PreviousNext