You are here

RAM voltages?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

RAM voltages?

Postby btyreman » Mon May 16, 2011 5:51 pm

in the process of building my PC...

I have purchased some corsair XMS3 ram, however...

I noticed that on my motherboard on the ram slots it clearly says 1.5v and the ram I have purchased is 1.65v. (something I overlooked) Does anyone here know if I can still use the corsair xms3 1.65v ram in a 1.5v motherboard ram slot?

regards,

BEN
btyreman
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:00 am

Re: RAM voltages?

Postby mick.n » Mon May 16, 2011 7:17 pm

What CPU are you going to use?
mick.n
Frequent Poster
Posts: 935
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: It's grim up north.

Re: RAM voltages?

Postby btyreman » Mon May 16, 2011 8:17 pm

the Intel i7 2600K (unlocked), but I still don't know if my RAM is compatible with my motherboard, how does the CPU processor affect this issue?
btyreman
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:00 am

Re: RAM voltages?

Postby mick.n » Mon May 16, 2011 8:34 pm

Thats the same CPU i used mate (sandybridge) on my recent build. I should also have asked what motherboard you are using.

You may find it usefull to read my post here as i asked the same question(scroll to the bottom of the post)

I used the 1.5volt corsair memory as you mentioned in your first post ( this one)

So far running very well. :)
mick.n
Frequent Poster
Posts: 935
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: It's grim up north.