You are here

Scan PC internal mic array won't work

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Mus » Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:38 am

Hi y'all,

Any tips for trying to get a Scan 3XS internal mic array to work?

Neither Microsoft Mapper or Classic Wave Driver will work in Sony Vegas etc. but as soon as I plug a lapel mic into the side of the machine it's fine. It's useful for rough acoustic guitar recordings and Skype of course.

Scan sent me the latest drivers but no joy.

I have this week to send it back carriage paid as a hardware fault but then I am being told I could be without it for up to 10 working days, which could be difficult.

Cheers!
M
User avatar
Mus
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Murray Webster London Songwriters - Collaboration Songshare Retreats Community

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby James Perrett » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:23 pm

Is it working with any other software that uses the MME drivers? Have you tried something like Skype?
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 7031
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Mus » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:46 pm

James Perrett wrote:Is it working with any other software that uses the MME drivers? Have you tried something like Skype?

Definitely not with Skype, James :frown:

M
User avatar
Mus
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Murray Webster London Songwriters - Collaboration Songshare Retreats Community

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Pete Kaine » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:30 am

Sorry, internal mic array? I'm a little confused as to what that's referring too.

I've just Googled up Sony Vegas and windows 10 mapping and the are a number of threads referring to a possibly related issue:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 6ff4c8c548

https://www.vegascreativesoftware.info/ ... g--100991/

https://goo.gl/egZyfc

Is this similar to what you're seeing with the mapper not being addressed by Vegas? If the sound is otherwise working and it's specific to Vegas, then it'll be worth trying a complete uninstall/reinstall with the latest version of Vegas.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2865
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby ef37a » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:37 am

If it helps, Samplitude Silver Pro X can run MME drivers and is a free download or you could use the 30 day Pro X3 trial.

Like Pete, I am intrigued!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8844
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Mus » Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:40 am

ef37a wrote:If it helps, Samplitude Silver Pro X can run MME drivers and is a free download or you could use the 30 day Pro X3 trial.

Like Pete, I am intrigued!

Dave.

Thanks Dave, I bought Samplitude Pro X3 Suite in January and unfortunately it exhibits the same behaviour using the MME drivers.

M
User avatar
Mus
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Murray Webster London Songwriters - Collaboration Songshare Retreats Community

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Mus » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:15 pm

Thanks Pete.

Pete Kaine wrote:Sorry, internal mic array? I'm a little confused as to what that's referring too.

It's what the Scan manual calls 'Built-In Array Microphone' either side of the webcam.

Pete Kaine wrote:I've just Googled up Sony Vegas and windows 10 mapping and the are a number of threads referring to a possibly related issue:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 6ff4c8c548

https://www.vegascreativesoftware.info/ ... g--100991/

https://goo.gl/egZyfc

Is this similar to what you're seeing with the mapper not being addressed by Vegas? If the sound is otherwise working and it's specific to Vegas, then it'll be worth trying a complete uninstall/reinstall with the latest version of Vegas.

There is no error and the Sound Mapper is available - it seems it just maps to the existing Sound Device defaults i.e. the Realtek High Definition Audio Speakers and Microphone.

In addition to Vegas neither Samplitude Pro nor Skype are working.

Cheers
M
User avatar
Mus
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Murray Webster London Songwriters - Collaboration Songshare Retreats Community

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Mus » Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:06 pm

Mus wrote:Thanks Pete.

Pete Kaine wrote:Sorry, internal mic array? I'm a little confused as to what that's referring too.

It's what the Scan manual calls 'Built-In Array Microphone' either side of the webcam.

So, after a bit of experimentation this morning it seems that if I start to close the lid the microphone pops and then springs into life. Bit of an awkward angle for Skype, though.

Is there anything I can do this end to fix this, Pete, and is it an indicator of anything else that might be wrong with the wires inside?

Cheers!
M
User avatar
Mus
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Murray Webster London Songwriters - Collaboration Songshare Retreats Community

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Pete Kaine » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:59 pm

Ahh, that makes more sense, this is a laptop then? Explains my confusion!

Offhand, I don't know, although from your description here it does suggest that something has worked loose on the connector. The support guys will be able to comment more, as I've not worked on the laptops in a while, and I'm not sure on how the cable is routed around the hinge section on the more recent models.

Grab someone on live chat/support line and they may well be able to talk you through solving it if it's something simple.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2865
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Scan PC internal mic array won't work

Postby Mus » Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:36 pm

Pete Kaine wrote:Ahh, that makes more sense, this is a laptop then? Explains my confusion!

Offhand, I don't know, although from your description here it does suggest that something has worked loose on the connector. The support guys will be able to comment more, as I've not worked on the laptops in a while, and I'm not sure on how the cable is routed around the hinge section on the more recent models.

Grab someone on live chat/support line and they may well be able to talk you through solving it if it's something simple.

Thanks Pete.

Spoke to support this morning and opened the bevel at the top of the screen on their instructions. Looks a bit complicated so wouldn't be comfortable dismantling it. I can't really be without the machine for 10 days for a relatively minor issue so will have to prop the laptop up for Skype and ad hoc rough acoustic recording when I need it.

Cheers!
M
User avatar
Mus
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Murray Webster London Songwriters - Collaboration Songshare Retreats Community


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users