You are here

Recording External FX Automation in Cubase?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Recording External FX Automation in Cubase?

Postby Will_m » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:03 pm

Hi all, just wondering what the best way to record external effects in Cubase is with automation?

My setup is basically an external effect in Cubase 9 routed out to some guitar pedals then routed back to an effects track which I'm sending a few audio tracks to via the fx sends. I'm then manipulating the guitar pedals as the track plays.

This is my first try with external hardware effects so I'm not sure how I can then record that performance with the pedals?
Will_m
Regular
williammorrismusic.com

Re: Recording External FX Automation in Cubase?

Postby The Elf » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:09 pm

The short answer is that you can't - or very probably can't, unless the guitar pedals you are using each have at the least a MIDI output, or MIDI over USB.

To record automation Cubase needs to know what knob you're twiddling, and what setting you've twiddled it to. Without MIDI it can never know.
The Elf
Jedi Poster
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Postby Matt Houghton » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:13 pm

If I've understood you correctly (you just want to record your performance of the FX pedals, rather than automate them from Cubase), then there are a couple of ways to do what you want...

First, it's possible to set an audio track to record the output of a Group track. Just go to the audio track and select the Group as its input. Then record-arm the track and play away. So you'll have either to route your FX track to the Group track, or simply use a Group track instead of an FX track (I can't see that an FX track offers anything that a Group doesn't!).