You are here

Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

Page 1 of 1

Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 2:36 pm
by Elephone
Hello. My PC is about 8 years old. I don't remember requesting dual monitor support when I ordered it from PC Specialist, but I'd like to use my spare monitor for the (Reaper) mixer and/or effects.

The PC has two VGA ports, but in different locations. I've occasionally plugged my monitor into the upper port and the monitor showed 'No Signal', but works in the lower port. I presume the upper port is on the motherboard and the lower one is for the video card.

Would I be able to use the motherboard port to support the second monitor? If not, will I have to install a second/different video card?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 2:57 pm
by Agharta
I don't think you can mix and match between onboard and discrete video outputs so you will need to buy a new Graphics card unless anyone knows different?

If you can say what system or motherboard you have and what version of Windows you are rung that might be useful for those offering advice.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 3:02 pm
by Elephone
Agharta wrote:I don't think you can mix and match between onboard and discrete video outputs so you will need to buy a new Graphics card unless anyone knows different?

If you can say what system or motherboard you have and what version of Windows you are rung that might be useful for those offering advice.

I'm running Windows 7. The motherboard is Acer (Intel i5) but I don't have the full details with me. I could probably get a dual video card for it for peanuts now anyway. Cheers

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 12:06 pm
by Pete Kaine
Acer make motherboards? :o

That aside, check the onboard is enabled in the BIOS.
What chip is it? Does it have a GPU on it?

You can mix and match onboard and add-in cards to some degree, although it does tend to end up coming down to the individual boards level of support for it.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 12:47 pm
by Elephone
My PC:

Motherboard: ASUS® P7H55D-M EVO: DDR3, 2 x USB 3.0, 1 x PCI, 2 x PCI-Ex 2.0

Intel® Core™i5 Processor i5-750 (2.66GHz) 8MB Cache

Memory (RAM): 8GB CORSAIR DDR3 DUAL-DDR3 1333MHz - LIFETIME WARRANTY!

Graphics Card: 512MB NVIDIA GEFORCE 210 PCI EXPRESS

2nd Graphics Card: NONE

I might want to do video editing stuff soon, but I'd be looking for the cheapest card to enable dual monitors.

I found an "MSI GeForce GT 1030 2GH LP OC Low Profile Graphics Card - 2 GB GDDR5 - 64-bit - 1265 MHz" selling for £24.39.

There's also the "ASUS GeForce GT710-SL-1GD5 Graphics Card - 1 GB GDDR5 - 32-bit - 954 MHz" for £25.99.

Thanks

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 1:06 pm
by Elephone
Oh! I just looked and apparently my card supports multiple monitors:

https://www.geforce.com/hardware/deskto ... ifications

I presume I just use the DVI (or HDMI) port for one screen and the VGA port for the other.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 3:00 pm
by Agharta
Elephone wrote:Oh! I just looked and apparently my card supports multiple monitors:

https://www.geforce.com/hardware/deskto ... ifications

I presume I just use the DVI (or HDMI) port for one screen and the VGA port for the other.
The chip does but it is up to the manufacturers to support all the features which they don't for all cards especially for the low end OEM market.
If the card has two physical outputs then you should be fine.
Do check the maximum resolution supported per output type which was stated in the link you gave.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 9:03 pm
by blinddrew
Elephone wrote:Oh! I just looked and apparently my card supports multiple monitors:

https://www.geforce.com/hardware/deskto ... ifications

I presume I just use the DVI (or HDMI) port for one screen and the VGA port for the other.
That's what I do. DVI defaults to monitor 1 with VGA going to 2.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 7:12 am
by ef37a
blinddrew wrote:
Elephone wrote:Oh! I just looked and apparently my card supports multiple monitors:

https://www.geforce.com/hardware/deskto ... ifications

I presume I just use the DVI (or HDMI) port for one screen and the VGA port for the other.
That's what I do. DVI defaults to monitor 1 with VGA going to 2.

Ah! My video card has 2x VGA with HDMI in the middle, could I use all three? (Asus M5A97 LE R2.0)

Dave.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 10:22 am
by blinddrew
I would expect so. Plug in and see what happens. :)

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 11:00 am
by Pete Kaine
ef37a wrote:Ah! My video card has 2x VGA with HDMI in the middle, could I use all three? (Asus M5A97 LE R2.0)

Are you sure?

From what I can recall, most of those 210's had 1x VGA, 1X DVI, 1X HDMI with the DVI and HDMI sharing the same digital clocking. That meant you could only use one or the other along with the VGA, meaning 2 outputs out of 3 running concurrently.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 12:09 pm
by ef37a
Pete Kaine wrote:
ef37a wrote:Ah! My video card has 2x VGA with HDMI in the middle, could I use all three? (Asus M5A97 LE R2.0)

Are you sure?

From what I can recall, most of those 210's had 1x VGA, 1X DVI, 1X HDMI with the DVI and HDMI sharing the same digital clocking. That meant you could only use one or the other along with the VGA, meaning 2 outputs out of 3 running concurrently.

You are right Pete! I had not looked at the connector in years and assumed it was VGA, 'tisn't it IS DVI.

But! How did you know? That MOBO does not have on board graphics, a fact that hissed me off greatly when it arrived and proved it not quite such a bargain! I had to rush to Maplins and splash 30 quid on a passively cooled card.

Still, two out of three ain't bad, I am looking for a 22" ish TV because the monitor is not wide screen and Samplitude ProX 3 is a bit cramped. Never run two screens before, will be such fun!

Dave.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 5:01 pm
by Pete Kaine
ef37a wrote:But! How did you know?

Long answer: It was the last entry-level passive for a few generations and it stuck in my mind for being one of the last to share the digital clock, forcing you to make a port choice with the connections.

Short answer: Seen too many of the damn things.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:29 am
by ef37a
Pete Kaine wrote:
ef37a wrote:But! How did you know?

Long answer: It was the last entry-level passive for a few generations and it stuck in my mind for being one of the last to share the digital clock, forcing you to make a port choice with the connections.

Short answer: Seen too many of the damn things.

Heh! Ok Pete, point taken, I shall take my ***t out of your life (grabs coat).

Dave.

Re: Using Dual Monitors (older PC)

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 11:25 am
by Pete Kaine
:lol:

Well, it was also cheap and capable, and I've probably personally sold a few thousand of them by this point. I have 2 on the test bench, a couple at home in the old parts box and 1 still active in my media server too... I think I've just hit the exposer saturation point.