You are here

SSD drives..

Page 1 of 1

SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:49 am
by Zukan
I have just had a hard drive failure and have decided to change 2 of my drives to SSD. Do companies provide SSDs with Win 10 pre installed on them or do I have to wing it myself?

Trying to avoid sending the pc to a computer specialist. If I can change the drives over myself and run the necessary tests then that would save me valuable time.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:32 am
by James Perrett
I've not done it myself yet, but most retail drives come with the software you need to copy things over. The Samsung Evo drives seem to have the best reputation for reliability and performance according to Pete Kaine's previous posts around here.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:56 am
by scw
Hi Zukan
I've done this many times with the Samsung Evo drives (and others). As mentioned above the Samsung EVO drives offer great bang for your buck and come with a bit of software, Samsung Magician, that makes cloning the old drive a breeze. If you can't clone your drive if it's broken or you don't have an image then you'll need to reinstall a copy of windows 10. I have done this quickly and easily using a USB stick.
Stewart

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 12:47 pm
by Wonks
Ed, I assume that it's your C: drive that's failed, so it can't be cloned?

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 1:29 pm
by wireman
Is it the C: (Windows) drive that has failed?

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:32 pm
by CS70
Zukan wrote:I have just had a hard drive failure and have decided to change 2 of my drives to SSD. Do companies provide SSDs with Win 10 pre installed on them or do I have to wing it myself?

Trying to avoid sending the pc to a computer specialist. If I can change the drives over myself and run the necessary tests then that would save me valuable time.

Don't think so - Windows has to adapt to the specific hardware combination of your machine and there's literally millions of them so it would be impossible to pre-install other than a minimum core, which would then need further installing.

Assuming you have a license, you can download Windows from MS website to a USB stick (on another computer, obviously) and install from there.

You then will have to ensure that your pc is able to see the network card and therefore connect to the internet (where then windows can go pick up other drivers). You can just try the installation and see if Windows can see any network. If it does, you're all set - just enter the network name and password and take it from there.

If it doesn't... it can be very easy or very tricky depending on the network interface you have, where it is and whether or not you still have the box with its name! Ideally you could see it in Device Manager in your existing installation but if your PC is dead obviously you can't... worst case you have to open the case and look at the card or the motherboard (it's easy to see what.. if the network cable is attached to a component on the motherboard or to a card.. for modern computers it's usually the former).

That done, Windows will install from the USB stick, attempting to recognize hardware components and using generic drivers for the ones which don't allow that (or ignoring them altogether). To complete the OS installation you have to find and download the drivers for all the specialized components you have - usually from the manufacturer web site. The first thing for which you really want to find the actual driver (in case Windows doesn't) is the graphic card. Luckily it's usually easy to identify the manufacturer name (just open the PC and look) or you may even remember it (they are expensive things, so they stick more than a 2 dollars component). Windows will always fall back on the VGA resolution which works with any graphic card, so don't be surprised if after installing your screen looks like it's taken right out of a 80s Super Mario game :-D

These days Windows is pretty good with self-recognition but it really depends on your hardware - some hardware simply does not allow automatic software-level recognition and Windows will either not use it, or use a generic driver. This usually affects more esoteric hardware tough, or special stuff (like for example a specialized keyboard with extra keys, or a special mouse etc), and said graphic card.

Stuff like the audio interface also needs specialized drivers, but that you know already.

The last (or first) potentially sticky bit is whether you are entitled to install Windows or not. When you buy your PC, it comes with a pre-installed manufacturer license ("OEM") tailored to that specific hardware. If you change the hardware (and especially the primary disk where Windows is installed) you may need (and pay for) a new license number. You could talk with the people who sold you your pc, or to Microsoft itself - and of course if the PC is still in warranty they will need to provide a replacement license.

Windows will work for a couple weeks without a valid license (and you can prolong that period a few times) but it's a pain in the bottom.

That said, once you have installed everything you can often find extremely cheap licenses from people who got hold of unused OEM ones... it's a bit of a grey area (OEM licenses are sold by MS to manufactures exclusively for creating new Windows PCs, so they aren't really meant for resale) but they work fine - and don't think that buying them is illegal (whereas selling them, it may).

Good luck!

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:47 pm
by Wonks
I know it's a Scan PC about 3 years old, so Pete should be able to help with any licensing issues.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:19 pm
by wireman
CS70 wrote:The last (or first) potentially sticky bit is whether you are entitled to install Windows or not. When you buy your PC, it comes with a pre-installed manufacturer license ("OEM") tailored to that specific hardware. If you change the hardware (and especially the primary disk where Windows is installed) you may need (and pay for) a new license number. You could talk with the people who sold you your pc, or to Microsoft itself - and of course if the PC is still in warranty they will need to provide a replacement license.

The OEM license is for the device (computer), which in practice means that only a change of motherboard is going to cause trouble and I would expect that you could contact Microsoft license activation to sort it out.

I have installed Windows 7 on laptops using a completely new drive and the Windows installation picked up the original license from somewhere, no idea where it got it from.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 6:01 pm
by The Elf
Zuke, mate, I'd definitely have a word with Pete. If he wants to take a look then take a trip up, pick me up en route and we'll go hit the coffee and buns while he fights the thing.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:29 pm
by Agharta
wireman wrote:
CS70 wrote:I have installed Windows 7 on laptops using a completely new drive and the Windows installation picked up the original license from somewhere, no idea where it got it from.

The license info is embedded in the BIOS for some OEM systems with older versions of Windows.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:06 am
by Zukan
Thanks for all the helpful advice chaps.

I had 3 hard drive failures at once. Yeah, my ethnic luck rears its head again.

Anyways, I installed the drives myself and reinstalled Win 10 fresh.

The costs of upgrading my pc were too high to make it a feasible option so I winged it myself and glad that I did.

The SSD drives have made a huge difference to the speed of processing in Cubase which at best can be a hog...

I decided that the money I saved from an upgrade would go towards funding a Mac.

Just to keep things tide, this is my 5th PC in 10 years....so you can see why I am reluctant to chase bad money with good.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:58 pm
by Eddy Deegan
Zukan wrote:I had 3 hard drive failures at once. Yeah, my ethnic luck rears its head again.
...
Just to keep things tide, this is my 5th PC in 10 years....so you can see why I am reluctant to chase bad money with good.

Hmm.. there could be some environmental issue there. Is your power supply stable? Might be worth powering the computers through a UPS or other conditioning device (I'm not an expert on the subject but happy power supplies were always considered extremely important when I was involved in server room / data centre work).

Also, check your cooling... it's not good for hard drives to run too hot.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:27 am
by Nathan-VST-Plugins
Really odd having three HDD failures at once, could be an electric peak. Here on my country the electric company is obligated to refund theses cases.

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:11 am
by Jack Ruston
Uh might be better not to mention the electricity company....

Re: SSD drives..

PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:35 am
by OneWorld
I have been using SSDs for both main and data drives for a while now and only one has failed, after about 3 years of use. After that I decided to use the EVO drives and cross fingers, they have been fine.

I used Macrium to make images of the old drive, and have cloned drives too, but when fitting a new c:drive I sort of bite the bullet and do a completely fresh install instead of cloning one drive to another as doing that brings across all kinds of redundancies in the registry etc

I have found more recent Microsoft offerings, WIn7 and now WIn10 of course very good at sorting out the hardware, and for those items that Win10 does not have drivers for, it lists them and then given you have the drivers at hand, things usually go quite smoothly. I have all the relevant drivers, having downloaded the latest version, saved to a single USB drive, I then go to MyComputer/Properties/Device Manger and work through those devices that haven't installed during the OS install. My biggest chore is re-installing things like NI Komplete OMG, it takes an age.

I also take a backup of the User folder, Docs and Settings and also make a copy of the Cubase Settings folders, that brings in all the templates etc