You are here

Getting into PC recording for a beginner

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Getting into PC recording for a beginner

Postby atarimad » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:29 am

Hi Chaps,

I keep putting this off but i really should be getting into PC recording. I normally use a hard disk recorder (Akai DPS16 - great machine but has it's limitations) but because of the limitations I'd like to try using one of my PC's. I'm not likely to be recording lots of tracks simultaneously so one or two inputs initially would be fine. I've always been confused with the setup of the audio inputs, outputs, latency etc.

For a complete newbie, can anyone make any recommendations for a simple DAW setup? I have a spare dual core PC with windows 10 to play with.

Many thanks.
atarimad
Regular

Re: Getting into PC recording for a beginner

Postby atarimad » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:33 am

If it helps I do have a couple of small desks, a Behringer BCF2000 and (I think) a Lexicon Omega audio interface (or a USB one whatever make it is!). I've also recently taken delivery of a Behringer Air X18 for live use.
atarimad
Regular

Postby The Elf » Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:00 pm

I know of the Lexicon, but I have no experience of it. It's very long in the tooth now and you may trip up with drivers for newer computers. Others will hopefully provide some guidance on this.

The XR18 will do the job for you. Just install the drivers and a bit of DAW software (the weapon of choice for beginners is Cockos Reaper) and start learning. Reaper is free to start. Once installed you will need to choose the XR18's ASIO driver in Reaper's options and you're on your way. The rest is about working your way up that learning curve.

(Don't get bogged down with that BCF2000 - that can come later, should you feel the need. It's not a 'desk'.)
The Elf
Jedi Poster
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Postby blinddrew » Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:36 pm