You are here

Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby kenjee kennedy » Thu May 30, 2019 7:28 am

Hello all

Searched the forum before about this, and did not know where to post so I post it here.

I need help please. I recently upgraded to kontakt 6.0.4 and one of my libraries has stopped working.

Library was working ok under kontakt 5. I browsed the net and youtube to find some fix, everyone says add again to Native Access, when I do, it says library added successfully, but still it does not show up in my kontakt plugin.

Anyone been there?
kenjee kennedy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby OneWorld » Thu May 30, 2019 10:50 am

kenjee kennedy wrote:Hello all

Searched the forum before about this, and did not know where to post so I post it here.

I need help please. I recently upgraded to kontakt 6.0.4 and one of my libraries has stopped working.

Library was working ok under kontakt 5. I browsed the net and youtube to find some fix, everyone says add again to Native Access, when I do, it says library added successfully, but still it does not show up in my kontakt plugin.

Anyone been there?

I don't know if this is a longshot but have you added the library to the database. I find Kontakt so perplexing it is hardly intuitive and I rarely get any help from NI themselves, often they don't even bother to reply.

However I have been able to move libraries though have heeded the advice in the manual never to move locations of the application itself nor the location of the VST. Can you establish that the library causing the problem is in the same location as your other libraries (although the libraries can be scattered all over the place I keep them in one location)

I am not quite sure what problem you're having. Have you installed the library but it is not showing under the Libraries column or it is showing but the data is not being found?

In the past I have sometimes installed a library but it hasn't displayed so I have had to go to the requisite folder and physically move it to for example the Factory Library folder then make sure the requisite folders are selected under the Files column and I then make sure by going to Options/Database and ensuring the folder is shown and scanned and if not shown then added and everything re-scanned. I have often found with VSTs/Sampler problems are the old "what's it called and where does it live" issue
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2593
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby desmond » Thu May 30, 2019 10:57 am

Kontakt 6 does not overwrite Kontakt 5, so use the Kontakt 5 standalone application, preferably 5.6, to add the library again, then quit it, and see whether it shows up in Kontakt 6.

This can sometimes work because they changed the way libraries are added from about 5.8 to Native Access, but the older method still works if you add them before the change, and is worth a try if you still have access to an old version of Kontakt...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8736
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby OneWorld » Fri May 31, 2019 12:01 pm

desmond wrote:Kontakt 6 does not overwrite Kontakt 5, so use the Kontakt 5 standalone application, preferably 5.6, to add the library again, then quit it, and see whether it shows up in Kontakt 6.

This can sometimes work because they changed the way libraries are added from about 5.8 to Native Access, but the older method still works if you add them before the change, and is worth a try if you still have access to an old version of Kontakt...

At risk of going slightly off-topic. I have Komplete, which of course includes Kontakt which I find I am using less and less in favour of Halion. I find Kontakt too perplexing, the GUI is awful. But the libraries are great and I am wondering whether I could get by just using Kontakt Player. If I installed Kontakt Player, would that interfere with the installation of Kontakt?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2593
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby desmond » Fri May 31, 2019 12:41 pm

Kontakt and Kontakt Player are the same plugin - if Kontakt isn't licensed it reverts to the Player version, and at that point, it will only load the full, expensive libraries that are NI licensed for the Player, it will no longer play the small, custom made free/inexpensive instruments from third-parties (well, they will time out after 15 mins or something).

You gain nothing by removing your Kontakt license, so no, I don't recommend you do that...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8736
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby OneWorld » Fri May 31, 2019 4:54 pm

desmond wrote:Kontakt and Kontakt Player are the same plugin - if Kontakt isn't licensed it reverts to the Player version, and at that point, it will only load the full, expensive libraries that are NI licensed for the Player, it will no longer play the small, custom made free/inexpensive instruments from third-parties (well, they will time out after 15 mins or something).

You gain nothing by removing your Kontakt license, so no, I don't recommend you do that...

Thanks. No I wouldn't be removing my Kontakt licence, but for example I use Studio Drums, West African Drums, a couple of the Grand Pianos that come with Komplete plus a few of the factory libraries that come with Kontakt, none of which I would edit except maybe make a few eq/effects changes, it seems overkill to load these into Kontakt when it feels as if they would load into Kontakt Player. I don't want to be in the situation whereby if I installed kontakt Player then I would end up with duplicate libraries.

I always feel like I am walking on eggshells when messing about with Kontakt, I once upgraded and somehow lost the 8 output configuration, I could find the .dlls, I copied them to where I thought was the right place but it made no difference, I still could not get my 8 separate audio outputs. I gave up in the end and bought Halion which just works as I expect it to, straight out the box.
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2593
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby desmond » Fri May 31, 2019 5:03 pm

OneWorld wrote:it seems overkill to load these into Kontakt when it feels as if they would load into Kontakt Player. I don't want to be in the situation whereby if I installed kontakt Player then I would end up with duplicate libraries.

From what you say, I'm not sure you understand - you're talking like Kontakt and Kontakt Player are two completely different things. They are not - you install Kontakt (or Kontakt Player, whichever download you have). If you do not licence it, it will display, and work, as Kontakt Player. If you register it with a licence, the "Player" graphic will be removed, and all the Player limitations go away, and you have a full Kontakt.

If you uninstall your Kontakt, and install Kontakt Player, you've just done the same thing as if you just removed the licence, and you've made your full Kontakt now not be able to load third-party libraries other than the major ones.

Now, if you *only* want to run full, NI-activated libraries, and never want to load any non-NI libraries, then Ok, you could revert to the Player version, but this seems rather pointless to me as you gain nothing, and lose a lot, and are wasting a licence you already have. Kontakt, in "Player" mode, has no less features than when you licence it into the full Kontakt.

There is no "I'll use Kontakt for some libraries, and Kontakt Player for others" - it's the same plugin, it just behaves slightly differently whether it's licensed or not.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8736
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby The Elf » Fri May 31, 2019 5:35 pm

I do agree that Kontakt is an appalling mess of an interface, but it really is worth persevering. The things you can do with it are mind-boggling. Halion is a toy by comparison.

The outputs thing is nightmare-ish. I've also lost my output assignments a couple of times and trying to remember how to get it all back is painful.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12370
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby OneWorld » Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:49 am

The Elf wrote:I do agree that Kontakt is an appalling mess of an interface, but it really is worth persevering. The things you can do with it are mind-boggling. Halion is a toy by comparison.

The outputs thing is nightmare-ish. I've also lost my output assignments a couple of times and trying to remember how to get it all back is painful.


Yes I take your point, although I would add that Halion 6 is very much under-rated, it hasn't quite got the 'cache' of Kontakt but it's snapping at the heels and it's greatest appeal to me is that it is more aimed at musicians for its immediacy. I would rather spend an hour writing music that trying to negotiate the perplexing labrynthine maze that is Kontakt just to get the outputs sorted out.

But yes I do have a fondness of Kontakt, and once after following a YouTube Vid I got the outputs sorted, but I did an update and the setups I had were all lost. I follow the tutorials but nope - wouldn't work. I contacted NI, they asked me for screenshots, I sent them - and now, several months later, no reply, even though I sent reminders - Steinberg although taking their time with replies, do get back in touch with a fix. The companies that help me when I get stuck get my money
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2593
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby blinddrew » Sat Jun 01, 2019 7:22 pm

Every time I think about getting the free player and having a dabble in the Kontact world, I read a thread like this one and decide there are better uses for my time...
Like waiting for Steinberg to respond to an error ticket. ;)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7305
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby desmond » Sat Jun 01, 2019 8:15 pm

Kontakt is both wonderfully great and maddeningly frustrating, in more or less equal measure.

However, in terms of libraries, and library development, there really is no option - the scripting environment lets you create "intelligent" instruments as opposed to just playing mapped-samples, and the amount of great libraries out there that aren't available (or even possible) on any other platform makes it a no brainer.

The interface is really fiddly and non-intuitive until you find your way around (yes, the output stuff is overly complicated and hard to get to), but as a playback and sample=development engine, it's pretty great.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8736
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby miN2 » Sat Jun 01, 2019 10:46 pm

I've had to delete registry keys before to get a libary to show up after an app update, so if you're on Windows, first remove the library from Kontakt then delete the library keys located at:

Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Native Instruments\Kontakt 5

Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Native Instruments

Computer\HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1722070743-1267805036-4179448574-1001\Software\Native Instruments

Computer\HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-1722070743-1267805036-4179448574-1003\Software\Native Instruments

Then add the library. Worked for me but ymmv.

This is with both 5.6 and 5.8 installed. Don't have 6.
miN2
Poster
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:24 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby Agharta » Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:19 pm

desmond wrote:However, in terms of libraries, and library development, there really is no option - the scripting environment lets you create "intelligent" instruments as opposed to just playing mapped-samples, and the amount of great libraries out there that aren't available (or even possible) on any other platform makes it a no brainer.

The interface is really fiddly and non-intuitive until you find your way around (yes, the output stuff is overly complicated and hard to get to), but as a playback and sample=development engine, it's pretty great.
So true. If you require access to a large range of what are arguably Industry standard libraries you NEED Kontakt and the full version.
If money is tight, buy an old version of Komplete plus a half price version of the update to the latest version when they are on offer at half price which is on for the whole of June.
That way you get the industry standard sample library player, even if reluctantly, with a bunch of other decent software.
It's also worth looking at the upgrade price to Komplete Ultimate as for some the extra £160 or so is worth it; this at the current sale prices.
Agharta
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby The Elf » Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:20 pm

I'm a newbie to scripting, but as one who has now taken the plunge I realise that Kontakt's true power lies there.

I hope that at some point NI can bring themselves to re-build the interface to present something much more usable than the dog's dinner we have now.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12370
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby IvanSC » Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:49 pm

@One World: have you rebuilt the library database? There is a button in the Kontakt GUI that allows this. It could well be all you need to do.

Just for grins, I opened Kontakt clicked on database and reloaded mine! Blimey I have a LOT more third party stuff than I realised!!!
It is currently up to 15 thousand user instrument files and still counting! To quote that explorer bloke "I may be quite a while"... err make that 22 thousand and climbing!
User avatar
IvanSC
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3022
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:00 am
Location: UK France & USA depending on the time of year.
Let me share my recipe for Wabbit stew with you!

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby OneWorld » Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:21 am

IvanSC wrote:@One World: have you rebuilt the library database? There is a button in the Kontakt GUI that allows this. It could well be all you need to do.

Just for grins, I opened Kontakt clicked on database and reloaded mine! Blimey I have a LOT more third party stuff than I realised!!!
It is currently up to 15 thousand user instrument files and still counting! To quote that explorer bloke "I may be quite a while"... err make that 22 thousand and climbing!

That bloke was Captain Lawrence Edward Grace "Titus" Oates and he was on Scott's second and fatal attempt on the South Pole. The survivors were returning, the mission a failure as of course they were beaten to the South Pole Amundsen. Amundsen had the advantage of good teams of huskies, Scott insisted donkeys would be better.

There is an excellent book (The Worst Journey in the World - check the reviews on Amazon) on the expedition written Anthony Cherry Gerrard, who essentially diarised the trip, but although a chronology, Gerrard had quite a prosaic style and there is melanchony, even humour, for example Gerrard wrote about the donkeys, and it should be remembered the expedition took place in Victorian times when one just went "mustn't grumble, up and at em" though there were murmourings of Scott's belief in himself that left one thinking he's not making wise choices - the donkeys seemed a good idea, but once offloaded, they sank into the snow and the men ended up carrying the donkeys, they fed them to the dogs in the end.

ON the return, the men were in a desperate state, several had already died, starvation and frostbite. They had rations for each man but they knew they would run out several 100's of miles before they got back to the ship. Oates, riddled with frostbite, knew he would not make the journey and so carrying him was burning up calories and when he died the rations would of course go further and he said "leave me" but of course the men would have none of that. During the night, with a 70mph blizzard blowing, Oates got up and essentially said "I'm going for a stroll, I'll be gone sometime"

A friend of mine, who'd rejected the book when I suggested she read the book as it is a really good read, said "Nah, it'd be too predictable, just jolly japes for boys" Anyway she picked it up out of curiosity and found it compelling, she said some nights she'd sit up in bed crying, such is the power of the writing.

There was a documentary on the other south pole explorer, Shackleton, and one of his crew members also had a remarkable life. They were shipwrecked and this bloke whose name I can't remember right now ended up adrift and washed up on some island with just a banjo for company, apparently he was captured by cannibals but they were charmed by his banjo playing and made him a deity, he went to find gold and opened a gold mine, he became very wealthy but it all went wrong and he was on his uppers again he went on to become a lion tamer, amongst several other buccaneering escapades, once being declared dead, I think he ended up in Canada and was a successful banker or investor or something like that, got bored so went back on expeditions, apparently he died happy and content back in Wales. Back in the day eh? what were they like, and the highlight of our lives according to many, is gawping at Love Island.
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2593
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Kontakt 6 issue 'instrument belong to library not installed'

Postby blinddrew » Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:10 pm

Here's a copy of Shackleton's recruitment advert:
Image
'twas a different world.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7305
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users