You are here

Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

Page 1 of 1

Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:57 pm
by AMOS63
Hi all, I'm having a hard time interfacing my Roland PK-5A pedals to my Laptop via a Roland Um-One MIDI to USB interface, the driver is installed and I can see that under options in Reaper, but I can't play any patches.

I'm attempting to utilize Omnisphere so I can play patches using the foot pedals while playing bass, guitar or cello. Does anyone have any experience running this sort of MIDI application? I had success using my Korg X3 as a MIDI keyboard with Reaper/Omnisphere but can't get there using the PK-5 as a controller. Thanks!

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:07 am
by The Elf
Make sure you have the correct MIDI port and channel selected. Some screenshots might help us to see how you have it set up.

If you use a different MIDI controller, does that work?

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:49 pm
by AMOS63
Yes my Korg X3 works fine as a controller, with the PK-5 I can see the lights moving on the track but it produces no sound.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:42 pm
by The Elf
Then it very much sounds like the PK5 are transmitting on the wrong MIDI channel - check that first.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 11:48 pm
by AMOS63
I know the PK-5 transmits on 2 but I'm not sure how to change the MIDI channel in Reaper, I didn't think software required that. it's usually install the driver then plug and play after that.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:46 am
by The Elf
AMOS63 wrote:I know the PK-5 transmits on 2 but I'm not sure how to change the MIDI channel in Reaper, I didn't think software required that. it's usually install the driver then plug and play after that.
Just getting MIDI in and out is not enough - MIDI channels still need to be correct! Most DAWs will re-channelise for you, but maybe you have something set that's not doing this. Hard to say without being there, but it seems likely, given that your other controller works.

Rather than trying to get Reaper to re-channelise, at least to test the theory, just ask the PK5 to transmit on the same channel as the controller that works.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:27 pm
by blinddrew
Changing the midi input channel in reaper is straightforward, right click on the input and you select both the source and target channels.
IIRC - i'm away from a machine at the moment...

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:33 am
by AMOS63
Thanks, I'll try that right after work

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:23 pm
by AMOS63
I decided to try it with my desktop and it worked right away without making any changes. The only thing different is I use an ASIO driver in the desktop. I'll take some screenshots so I can compare the settings with the laptop.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 6:02 pm
by The Elf
ASIO is irrelevant in the context of what you've described. ASIO doesn't have anything to do with MIDI.

There *must* be another difference in the way you have it set up.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:25 pm
by AMOS63
I agree

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:13 am
by Wonks
Is the desktop MIDI via an audio interface with hardware MIDI sockets, or are you still using the same hardware MIDI to USB interface? If the former, it could simply be that the USB interface is faulty. I had a friend who spent ages trying to get a keyboard to work with an iPad with a cheap interface, but in the end bought another (slightly more expensive) interface and it worked straight away.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:50 pm
by AMOS63
I'm using the Roland UM-One MIDI to USB adapter. it's running fine on my laptop now, I think it always was! It's just not voicing all of the Omnisphere patches though, not sure why, but the patches where it doesn't create a sound, it only moves the input signal strength bar in my DAW. With native Instruments it runs Massive and Absynth 5 perfectly.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:59 pm
by Wonks
I don't know Omnisphere but it sounds like similar symptoms to when I use a Kontakt instrument and the input is outside the range of the instrument being played. You see the MIDI indicator light, but no sound comes out.

Might be worth checking to see if there's an input range note restriction on those Omnisphere patches that don't sound. You are playing low bass notes after all.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:43 pm
by AMOS63
I'll check that out, I did change the octaves on the PK-5 pedals to see if the patch was very high or low but it made no difference.

Re: Using Roland PK-5A floor pedals with Laptop Programs

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:47 pm
by The Elf
Record a few notes and look in your MIDI editor to see what note numbers are being generated.