You are here

Transfering keyboard sequencer MIDI data

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Transfering keyboard sequencer MIDI data

Postby Dynahoe Dave » Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:15 am

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this...

But here is the story -
I am helping a friend. She has a Roland JV-1000 with thousands of recorded songs in it's sequencer format, and would like to move to a newer keyboard. I have been keeping her JV-1000s alive by swapping parts from spares, and repairs with new parts I managed to find online. I repair a LOT of older electronics.

Anyway, I can get the songs out of the JV-1000 as general MIDI, and load them into a DAW -specifically, I am experimenting with Reaper. I can get the songs in, but as I expected, the voices are not right, since MIDI from the days of the JV-1000 and now has gone through a few updates.

The question is, where / how do I change the voices to get the piano track to play the piano sound, the strings to the strings, etc.? For now, at least on the Reaper / Windows PC for playback.

The next step will be how can I get the reaper file / data / MIDI stream loaded onto the new keyboard's sequencer? The new keyboard is a Roland DS-76.
Dynahoe Dave
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:40 am

Re: Transfering keyboard sequencer MIDI data

Postby BJG145 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:28 pm

What are you using to play tracks back in Reaper...? The JV, or a VST...? It's basically a case of directing the output of a given MIDI track to the relevant plugin or hardware MIDI channel.

Info on loading MIDI files into the DS76 can be found on P15 of the owner's manual available on the Roland website. (Apparently a case of loading "SMF 0" from a USB stick; see eg here for a definition of SMF 0.)
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3828
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Transfering keyboard sequencer MIDI data

Postby Dynahoe Dave » Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:43 am

For now, I have been playing back through reaper / windows, no via external MIDI.

I will look up that manual. I need to know that I can get help figuring out how to do it, so I can say "yes, go ahead and buy the keyboard, it can be done".

I am a little lost as far as some of the terminology, as it has been a long time since I did anything in this realm. Like back in the days the JV-1000 Windows 3.1 were current technology.

Outside of the MIDI / Music specific stuff, I do know loads of electronics design from that time.
Dynahoe Dave
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 5:40 am

Re: Transfering keyboard sequencer MIDI data

Postby James Perrett » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:16 pm

There's a neat little virtual synth that is very handy for playing pack general MIDI or XG format files called S-YXG50 which was originally available from Yamaha but can now been downloaded from various places on the internet. It would probably be good for checking that you are sending the right program change messages in the MIDI files. It works best with the 32 bit version of Reaper as the 64 bit version suffers from the odd stuck note.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 8429
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Transfering keyboard sequencer MIDI data

Postby Eddy Deegan » Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:37 pm

Dynahoe Dave wrote:Anyway, I can get the songs out of the JV-1000 as general MIDI, and load them into a DAW -specifically, I am experimenting with Reaper. I can get the songs in, but as I expected, the voices are not right, since MIDI from the days of the JV-1000 and now has gone through a few updates.

I don't think this is due to MIDI going through a few updates. General MIDI was intended to transfer songs between different systems and have it sound "broadly correct" on all of them so long as the music was created using a GM soundbank and they have a standard GM soundbank of their own, but there will still be variations in the timbres of the sounds (a 'Grand Piano' patch on one device may sound quite different to a patch of the same name on another).

If your friend's songs use any voices of the JV-1000 that are not in a GM soundbank then there may be no equivalent voice on the system you're playing that MIDI file on, so the results could be quite random and you (or she) will have to experiment with various softsynths or other sound sources to determine the best match you can find.

That said, getting the MIDI data out of the JV and into a DAW is a good move because at least you then have the compositions and performance thereof safe, even if the sounds need some work to recreate outside of the Roland. You can also use multiple softsynths/devices for the sounds, as each track can be assigned a different sound source (or even multiple layered sources) for playback.
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Please consider supporting the SOS Forum Album project, raising money for charity via music created by forum members at https://sosforumalbum.bandcamp.com
 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users