You are here

Installing more RAM than supported

Page 1 of 1

Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:30 pm
by garrettendi
Hi chaps

My workplace may have some spare RAM sticks I can install in my studio PC, which currently has 6 gigs of RAM.

I'm not sure what my computer supports with regards to type of RAM or how much is supported maximum as there are multiple iterations of this PC model (I can't remember the model at this stage I can look it up later at home).

If I took the plunge and just installed it, and it turned out to be more than the max or the wrong type, would it damage the PC or could I just put the old RAM straight back in?

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:37 pm
by Wonks
It won't damage it. The extra RAM normally just can't be addressed/ used. A bit like 32-bit windows only accessing the first 4GB or RAM or so, even if more was installed.

If you currently have 6 Gigs, then the MOBO should address at least 8GB.

Obviously the new RAM needs to be compatible with the MOBO and all of the same type.

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 3:45 pm
by garrettendi
Thanks Wonks!

Unfortunately I've just enquired with work and it's only 2 gb more than my current RAM and it may be the wrong type as it's for a shorter form workstation anyway. So I shall be leaving it.

I got my hopes up for a moment :(

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:02 pm
by Wonks
RAM sticks are basically the same size, regardless of the computer size. But it's important whether it's the same basic type and maximum clock speed speed e.g DDR2, DDR 3 or DDR4 and between say 200Mhz and 1600MHz speed.

And an extra 2GB is a 33% increase in RAM capacity, so quite significant with lots of samples. Especially when a lot of your 1st GB of RAM is used by the O/S; so that's a fair bit more for the music apps to use.

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:04 pm
by garrettendi
That's true Wonks. Unfortunately I think I might have jumped the gun and the offer may have been taken by someone else.

But I'll ask.

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:19 pm
by garrettendi
OK I've got the RAM but it's definitely 2133P which is DDR-4. My PC I believe is a HP Z400 which seems to only support DDR-3

Is there any hope?

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:32 pm
by Wonks
I believe it's a different (lower) voltage and a different slot type to avoid mismatch. So no hope.

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:33 pm
by garrettendi
Well it was worth a punt.

Next time I'm in the studio I'll open up Task Manager and confirm it's DDR-3.

Oh well.

Re: Installing more RAM than supported

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 12:26 pm
by Pete Kaine
For a bit more info: https://www.ccleaner.com/speccy