You are here

Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:07 pm

Hi
I use a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 1st generation with Windows 10 and while it works fine, I can’t get the unit to power on when I turn on the laptop.
I have to unplug and plug it in again.
I’ve selected Focusrite as default audio in settings but when the PC is turned on again, the 2i2 is not recognised. No messages
or anything.
I have the latest drivers installed.
Any help appreciated.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Wonks » Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:09 pm

Have you got the phantom power turned on? if so, try turning it off. Your laptop may not be able to supply sufficient current for the interface with the phantom circuit (at least on power-up).
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10108
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:20 pm

Or might it be that the Laptop switches off its USB ports when it sleeps and needs a prompt to fire them up again? Maybe a BIOS setting?

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 24990
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:15 pm

Wonks wrote:Have you got the phantom power turned on? if so, try turning it off. Your laptop may not be able to supply sufficient current for the interface with the phantom circuit (at least on power-up).

Phantom power is off.
It’s strange because the red halos around the input gains flash when laptop is powered up but it goes no further.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:31 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:Or might it be that the Laptop switches off its USB ports when it sleeps and needs a prompt to fire them up again? Maybe a BIOS setting?

H

Yes. Once the interface is on, the laptop switches it off when entering sleep mode.
It powers back up fine when prompted.
When the laptop is started from off, the Scarlett doesn’t start with it but other devices do.
It looks like the Focusrite drivers are not loading as Cubase can’t find the device when opened.
Disconnect then reconnect the USB cable and it powers up.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby John Egan » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:33 pm

My Scarlett 18i6 (first generation) fires up perfectly when the system is switched on. I am using ASIO4ALL V2 drivers with the DAW and the latest drivers downloaded from the Focusrite site with other software. Have you spoken to Focusrite ? They were very helpful when I experienced a problem some months ago.
Regards, John
User avatar
John Egan
Regular
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Staffordshire, England

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Wonks » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:40 pm

It does sound like it's more to do with the laptop than the Focusrite. Have you tried different power management settings, to see if a 100% full power mode works any differently?
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10108
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:14 pm

John Egan wrote:My Scarlett 18i6 (first generation) fires up perfectly when the system is switched on. I am using ASIO4ALL V2 drivers with the DAW and the latest drivers downloaded from the Focusrite site with other software. Have you spoken to Focusrite ? They were very helpful when I experienced a problem some months ago.
Regards, John

Thanks.
I’ve heard of ASIO4ALL but thought no need for it if the device’s current drivers are available.
I’ll contact Focusrite anyway.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby blinddrew » Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:29 pm

Just another +1 contacting focusrite, they've been really helpful to me on a few occasions.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 8452
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Pete Kaine » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:05 am

Just wondering if it shows up at all in device manger when first turned on?

Sometimes drivers can block each other when grabbing resources and the unplug/replug process forces it to reload afresh.

Next time you start and the interface doesn't, jump into control panel/devicemanger and check for the Focusrite having an exclamation mark next to it.

What I'm wondering is, if multiple installations of the driver itself (ghosting) is otherwise stealing resouces from itself.

https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html

Grab that and run it. Before doing so, unplug anything USB wise that isn't the keyboard/mouse/essential to letting you run the above program.

I would rattle through and remove any multiple ghost entries and anything that is obviously no longer required. It might have no effect, but couldn't hurt to give it a go.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3079
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby CS70 » Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:06 pm

Sounds like a USB power-up handling issue in the laptop to me, not maybe a bug per se but something with the combination of what the laptop does and the interface expects during powerup. It used to be quite a common issue with USB devices.

Nowadays is most often a power management issue - do you have the "allow the OS to manage this device" turned off in the "Power" tab of all your USB root devices?

Basically you want your USB ports to be always on.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:48 pm

CS70 wrote:
Nowadays is most often a power management issue - do you have the "allow the OS to manage this device" turned off in the "Power" tab of all your USB root devices?

Basically you want your USB ports to be always on.

Thanks. Not sure whether to look in Device Manager or Power Management for that option.
Had a look at Universal Serial Bus Controller in Device Manager and only the USB 3.0
one has Power Management option.
The box ‘Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power’ is checked.
I think I have the Scarlett running off a USB 2.0 socket though.

Unable to find any settings with the exact wording you gave.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:56 pm

Pete Kaine wrote:
Next time you start and the interface doesn't, jump into control panel/devicemanger and check for the Focusrite having an exclamation mark next to it.

The Focusrite entry looks fine and there’s no exclamation mark.
Says device is working properly although it’s plugged in and not on.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby CS70 » Fri Nov 22, 2019 6:10 pm

DanR wrote:The box ‘Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power’ is checked.
I think I have the Scarlett running off a USB 2.0 socket though.

Unable to find any settings with the exact wording you gave.

That's the one. You want to uncheck it.

My apologies, mine wasn't exact wording at all - just a figment from memory. :-)

Just to make sure, go thru all the devices in Device Manager and uncheck it for all of them (maybe what you just wrote is that you already did, but not sure).
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4448
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:18 pm

CS70 wrote:
DanR wrote:The box ‘Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power’ is checked.
I think I have the Scarlett running off a USB 2.0 socket though.

Unable to find any settings with the exact wording you gave.

That's the one. You want to uncheck it.

My apologies, mine wasn't exact wording at all - just a figment from memory. :-)

Just to make sure, go thru all the devices in Device Manager and uncheck it for all of them (maybe what you just wrote is that you already did, but not sure).

I unchecked it and plugged the interface into the USB 3.0 socket and the lights didn't even flicker like before.
There’s no other devices other than this that have a Power Management option.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:08 pm

I’ve now sent a technical support enquiry to Focusrite so hope to have it resolved soon.
Thanks for the help and replies.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:53 pm

Have had a helpful reply from Focusrite with detailed suggestions but the Scarlett still won’t power up when starting Windows.
Have even tried disabling the fast startup option which I’ve read about.
I think I’m done with starting/restarting to check if it works :(.
It just means that I have to unplug the 2i2 before starting the laptop and then plugging it in
again when Windows has loaded.

That’s ok but I’ve been considering upgrading to an interface that has an external power supply option, like the new Steinberg UR22c.
As I do mostly keys/VST, the midi I/O would be useful too.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Pete Kaine » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:33 am

*edit after removing original post*

Got ahead of myself on that one.

Found a USB power switch, didn't read the small print about lack of data connection.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3079
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby Pete Kaine » Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:35 am

Dammit... timed out before coming back to reedit the above.

Anyhow, this listing has a power switch and other users state it'll handle data.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-OFF-SWITCH ... B00RC1NFEI

Admittedly, the switch is in a poor place. What you need is a cable with a switch in it, of which there are loads, but all the ones I've checked don't carry data.

You might get luckier through, I've not got the time to check all that many. One of the lads here runs a powered hub with switchs on it for the same reason.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3079
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Focusrite Scarlett power up problem

Postby DanR » Fri Nov 29, 2019 12:16 pm

Pete Kaine wrote:Dammit... timed out before coming back to reedit the above.

Anyhow, this listing has a power switch and other users state it'll handle data.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-OFF-SWITCH ... B00RC1NFEI

Admittedly, the switch is in a poor place. What you need is a cable with a switch in it, of which there are loads, but all the ones I've checked don't carry data.

You might get luckier through, I've not got the time to check all that many. One of the lads here runs a powered hub with switchs on it for the same reason.

Thanks, looks useful.
A powered hub I think would work.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users