You are here

Upgrading sounds

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby ef37a » Thu Mar 05, 2020 12:06 am

DanR wrote:
ef37a wrote:Mind you, USB 3.0 gives you 4.5W to play with

I thought they were USB 2.0 but with the C connection, like the Focusrite Scarlett 3rd gen.

Yes Dan I am sure you are right I just mean that modern laptops have more USB 3.0 ports than 2.0 as a rule and that bus powered AIs are not sailing so close to the power limit wind.

My Lenovo T510 for example has two 3.0 ports and just one 2.0 and I have also fitted a 2 port USB 3.0 Express card and that is from a new machine!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11490
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:24 am

ef37a wrote:
Yes Dan I am sure you are right I just mean that modern laptops have more USB 3.0 ports than 2.0 as a rule and that bus powered AIs are not sailing so close to the power limit wind.

My Lenovo T510 for example has two 3.0 ports and just one 2.0

Dave.

Ok thanks. My i5 Acer is the other way round - two USB 2.0 ports and one USB 3.0 so things are gradually changing.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Mon Mar 09, 2020 1:41 pm

Regarding the MOTU M2, I’m wondering if this would be an improvement in stability over my Scarlett 2i2 gen one.
The Focusrite works well although I do get an occasional stutter/spike on playback in Cubase. Buffer size is 256 which gives very good useable low latency for playing virtual instruments.
I’m running twelve instances of Halion Sonic SE, a couple of effects and the performance meter is quite low.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Thu Mar 12, 2020 12:36 pm

DanR wrote:The Focusrite works well although I do get an occasional stutter/spike on playback in Cubase.

Having switched to the installed ASIO4ALL driver, the audio stutter has disappeared.
Something then to do with the Focusrite Scarlett driver.
It’s a gen one model and there are reports of problems with Windows 10 compatibility, even with the latest drivers.
Most of my use is with virtual instruments and these record and playback fine, monitoring
from the laptop headphone jack.
I only need an audio interface to record occasional audio from hardware synths and maybe
trigger their sounds via midi.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby ef37a » Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:39 pm

DanR wrote:
DanR wrote:The Focusrite works well although I do get an occasional stutter/spike on playback in Cubase.

Having switched to the installed ASIO4ALL driver, the audio stutter has disappeared.
Something then to do with the Focusrite Scarlett driver.
It’s a gen one model and there are reports of problems with Windows 10 compatibility, even with the latest drivers.
Most of my use is with virtual instruments and these record and playback fine, monitoring
from the laptop headphone jack.
I only need an audio interface to record occasional audio from hardware synths and maybe
trigger their sounds via midi.

A few days ago I installed a Scarlet 8i6 Mk1 on this W10 Lenovo T510. It installed ok but then gave a few problems with Samplitude Prox Silver locking up. That never happens with the KA6 on 10 or W7.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11490
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby blinddrew » Thu Mar 12, 2020 4:51 pm

I'm running an 8i6 mk1 on a W10 machine and had a bit of a glitch the other week. But the problem turned out to be the driver installer hadn't run properly and I was actually still on an older driver. Doing a wipe and clean install of the new drivers sorted it.
So worth checking that you're actually, definitely, certainly using the latest drivers and latest version of MixControl.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10149
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby ef37a » Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:34 pm

blinddrew wrote:I'm running an 8i6 mk1 on a W10 machine and had a bit of a glitch the other week. But the problem turned out to be the driver installer hadn't run properly and I was actually still on an older driver. Doing a wipe and clean install of the new drivers sorted it.
So worth checking that you're actually, definitely, certainly using the latest drivers and latest version of MixControl.

Woulddo Drew but having had my first real read of the 8i6 manual I see it has a 'loop back' setting whereby I can record computer sounds. I have decided therefore to use it in my 'studio' setup which is rigged mainly for duping cassettes, to and from and runs a W7 setup which will have the R45 removed.
This was setup with the KA6 and the PC has a 2496 in it but neither AI can do loop back.

Feeling a it more energy these days. Major surgery takes a ***t load out of you past 3 score and ten!

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11490
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:31 pm

blinddrew wrote:So worth checking that you're actually, definitely, certainly using the latest drivers and latest version of MixControl.

Thanks for the reply. Have reinstalled the driver a couple of times but will check.
I did try MixControl but it wouldn’t open. Says ‘no hardware connected’ even though the interface is working.
I don’t think it’s included or used with the 2i2 and no mention of it in the instruction manual.

Update: Have installed the 2nd gen Scarlett driver instead and it seems to be running glitch free now :thumbup:
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby blinddrew » Fri Mar 13, 2020 11:00 am

DanR wrote:Update: Have installed the 2nd gen Scarlett driver instead and it seems to be running glitch free now :thumbup:
Good stuff :thumbup:
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10149
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:56 pm

Well, after using the Scarlett 2nd gen drivers for a while, my projects do still have the occasional audio stutter during playback. Maybe track freezing would help.
The ASIO4ALL seems to work a little better.

I only really need a seperate audio interface to record hardware synths. Most stuff is VST instruments.
Would like though to update/upgrade my Scarlett 2i2 1st gen but it needs to be something
with really steady audio performance.
I know RME is one of the best for this but beyond my budget.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Sun Apr 12, 2020 11:09 am

ef37a wrote:my KA6 is as a rock with any PC I use.
Dave.

This is encouraging for the bus vs external power quandary I’m having choosing a new interface.
It’s the only hang up I’ve got on the MOTU M2.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby ef37a » Sun Apr 12, 2020 11:52 am

DanR wrote:
ef37a wrote:my KA6 is as a rock with any PC I use.
Dave.

This is encouraging for the bus vs external power quandary I’m having choosing a new interface.
It’s the only hang up I’ve got on the MOTU M2.

If you mean you are worried that some USB ports won't supply enough power Dan? I wouldn't. I doubt the M2 pulls as much current as the KA6 and that only takes about 400mA or so, leaving a good margin from the 500mA max and that runs on any USB 2.0 and 3.0 port I have ever tried on about 4 laptops.

I will admit though that I would have liked a power socket on the KA6 and IMHO would give up the switch on the back for a bog S coax socket on the MOTUs.
Maybe these companies are worried about people using unsuitable third party supplies? Not that hard to make a power port pretty bombproof? The 5 volt 1 amp rat must be nearly as ubiquitous as its furry namesake! Does anyone here not have at least three?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11490
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:07 am

ef37a wrote:
If you mean you are worried that some USB ports won't supply enough power Dan? I wouldn't. I doubt the M2 pulls as much current as the KA6 and that only takes about 400mA or so, leaving a good margin from the 500mA max and that runs on any USB 2.0 and 3.0 port I have ever tried on about 4 laptops.

I will admit though that I would have liked a power socket on the KA6 and IMHO would give up the switch on the back for a bog S coax socket on the MOTUs.
Maybe these companies are worried about people using unsuitable third party supplies? Not that hard to make a power port pretty bombproof? The 5 volt 1 amp rat must be nearly as ubiquitous as its furry namesake! Does anyone here not have at least three?

Dave.

Thanks.
Yes, I have a couple of micro USB mobile phone chargers that would power an audio interface such as the Steinberg UR22mkii or UR22c.
Not sure why some companies don’t include DC power option. Useful if using the phantom power a lot which they all have.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby ef37a » Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:35 pm

DanR wrote:
ef37a wrote:
If you mean you are worried that some USB ports won't supply enough power Dan? I wouldn't. I doubt the M2 pulls as much current as the KA6 and that only takes about 400mA or so, leaving a good margin from the 500mA max and that runs on any USB 2.0 and 3.0 port I have ever tried on about 4 laptops.

I will admit though that I would have liked a power socket on the KA6 and IMHO would give up the switch on the back for a bog S coax socket on the MOTUs.
Maybe these companies are worried about people using unsuitable third party supplies? Not that hard to make a power port pretty bombproof? The 5 volt 1 amp rat must be nearly as ubiquitous as its furry namesake! Does anyone here not have at least three?

Dave.

Thanks.
Yes, I have a couple of micro USB mobile phone chargers that would power an audio interface such as the Steinberg UR22mkii or UR22c.
Not sure why some companies don’t include DC power option. Useful if using the phantom power a lot which they all have.

Yes, 'Feeble Phantom' is one of the few issues I have with the KA6, it puts out about 2mA per XLR iirc when I checked it some time ago. This was not due to the USB port power drooping as I had a USB DC meter in circuit and also tried a dual USB cable for double bubble.

The AI still runs both my AKG P150s or my Sontronics LDC but other mics might be in trouble.

Of course it is not just a case of fitting a power socket and tying the wires to the USB 5V points. To do the job properly you need polarity protection, some RF filtering and ideally over voltage protection.

I shall now have a look for an 'inline USB power injector' but one would not help with the KA's lack of spook current.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11490
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Upgrading sounds

Postby DanR » Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:33 pm

Thanks.
The KA6 MkII looks good value too. Similar price as the M2 but more features for the money.
The power switch on the M2 would be handy though. Haven’t seen this before on any bus powered interface. MOTU have said that it cuts power and data so would save me unplugging/replugging every startup.
The ‘not recognizing’ the audio interface at startup does seem to be quite common with bus powered units but also dependant on system used.
DanR
Regular
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Previous