You are here

Newbie_Ableton or Cubase?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Newbie_Ableton or Cubase?

Postby Guest » Fri May 15, 2020 5:24 pm

Need some feedback.

I'm brand new to creating music with a DAW. I am very experienced playing music on guitar and keyboard. My main interest in using the software is to create back tracks for solo guitar arrangements. I will also like to just mess around, maybe write a symphony. Or a soundtrack to a photo slideshow. I want to keep my options open regarding where I go. I started out with Mixcraft, which I had from a few years ago but never used. It didn't feel like the program I wanted for what I was doing so I began researching and found other DAWs.

The two DAWs I am interested in are Ableton Live (a lite version came with my midi keyboard) and Cubase. Of the two, Cubase seems to be more what I want. I'm not interested in live performances and from what I read, Cubase might be a better choice to recording, and besides I think it has more sampled 'real' instruments rather than electronically created sounds that have a world of their own.

I want(ed) to download Cubase Artist but had a frustrating time locating an e-Licenser in the USA. Cubase seems to be far more popular in the Euro. I spent hours on the phone and online but did locate one. One drawback of Cubase is that it totally takes over the sound on my computer and I like the option of watching videos and then trying it out. In order to do so, I have to close Cubase first before viewing a video.

I'm actually making more progress learning how to use Ableton. And I just saw a special for the next level of Ableton, 30% off for the next few weeks. The price is very attractive.