You are here

Waves Central - Admin User?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Waves Central - Admin User?

Postby Temp » Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:46 am

Hi Folks,

I've finally got round to installing Waves Central so I can use the Abbey Road plugins I purchased last year. Once installed, I can open Central and see the two products I've bought, but clicking on 'Install and Activate' appears to do nothing. I was about to attempt the old 'Run as Administrator' workaround, but then realised I'm running Cubase, Reaper etc. as a regular user and didn't want to inadvertently create any annoying permissions/licensing/file location issues. After a quick Google, it appears to be a fairly common problem, and the Waves FAQ offers up some very questionable advice (including totally disabling UAC and all anti-virus software).

Before I proceed with running Waves Central as an administrator and attempting to install/activate, does anyone have any prior experience with this? I've had this before with an East/West Orchestra plugin that still drives me mad to this day by deciding to unauthorise itself if I happen to run a VSTi-capable host under a different user.

Many thanks.
User avatar
Temp
Regular
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Medway, UK

Re: Waves Central - Admin User?

Postby resistorman » Thu Jun 25, 2020 2:18 am

Waves has always had the most draconian and idiotic copy protection. Back when I still used their products, I’d find cracks of the plugins I bought so I could actually use them.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 907
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:00 am
Location: Asheville NC

Re: Waves Central - Admin User?

Postby innerchord » Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:06 am

'Install and Activate' is a heading, not a clickable button.

Make sure you're running the latest version of Waves Central (currently 11.0.60).
Log in to your account, and choose Install from the options on the left.
Select the plug-ins you wish to install by clicking on them from the list that appears; they should now have ticks in pale blue circles to the left of them.
The large blue Install button on the right should now be available.

Button location corrected -- HR

One thing to note; they are large installs. If you haven't got several gigabytes of free space you may not be able to proceed.

I find waves to have the very easiest license key system I've encountered, with excellent manipulation of licenses. What I don't like is... the one-license limit (yes, I know about the recent update to two, but it's still limited), the huge downloads and the confusing version system implementation.
Great plug-ins, though!
innerchord
Regular
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:00 pm

 


Re: Waves Central - Admin User?

Postby Temp » Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:05 am

Thanks for the replies folks.

innerchord wrote:'Install and Activate' is a heading, not a clickable button.

No, it's most definitely a button:

Image

I contacted support and apparently there's an issue with Waves Central v11 and Win 7 at the moment, so they've sent me a replacement version in the meantime. I'm just about to re-attempt the installation, so fingers crossed.

Cheers.
User avatar
Temp
Regular
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Medway, UK

Re: Waves Central - Admin User?

Postby innerchord » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:13 pm

Yes indeed. I've just checked on a Windows 7 machine, and there is indeed a problem with Waves Central on that OS.

Oh, and my blue button says just 'install' because the product was already activated on my system. Yep, things are not always as clear as they should be! Thanks for giving Waves a kick... :lol:
innerchord
Regular
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:00 pm