You are here

Steinberg and Windows

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Steinberg and Windows

Postby Guest » Sat Jul 04, 2020 2:34 pm

I would appreciate it havng a candid discussion of a decision I must make and I have found this forum incredible regarding great helpful information with an incredibly fast turn around response time.

I am probably giving out way too much information here but want to accurately portray the environment from which I need to make a decision.

I am getting into creating music on my computer. A year ago I purchased a gaming computer that seemed to have the specs I'd need to edit photographs and create music. It's an Acer A717 72G with an intel i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 2208 Mhz 6 core processor, 16 GB RAM and an SSD. I have no issues with the computer.

I will not be earning income from my music production. I may create some backtracks for clients (I teach guitar) but that isn't really why I want to jump into computer music. The type of music I will create is probably best described as film score style. I may play around with electronic music in the style of EDM but it's not my main focus. When I researched the software available, Cubase was the most appealing. I like the way it looks and the music writing tools available in the Artist edition look great.

Early last month I was going to purchase a license for the mid-level version, Artist 10.5 but ran into some e-licenser issues and decided to get the basic Elements version with the intention of upgrading when I got the licensing issues resolved. The Yamaha tech support in the USA got the licensing issue resolved. Then Windows dropped a large update and my license is no longer valid. I will contact the tech people this coming week and get the issue resolved, I hope.

The initial issue when I first downloaded the e-licenser software and plugged in the dongle was something to do with the Windows DCOM:

DCOM connection to program 'Synsopos.exe' failed.

I will work with Steinberg on resolving this. I did check Windows services and DCOM is running. I reinstalled the new (2 July) e-licenser software. Still not working.

I need to know why I'm having this issue. Is this common to ALL Windows users? If not, what in my computer causes this issue? Will this likely happen again? I read somewhere that the e-licenser software is outdated and if that's true, why wouldn't the Cubase people fix it?

Cubase offered to refund my money. I have to decide whether to go forward with Steinberg as they are having a fantastic deal right now where I can upgrade to the version I want at 40% off.

I'm working with Reaper right now and it works fine. But I would rather be using Cubase.

I know I have been a pest here. If and when I finally get settled in with the software I want to be using I will be more of an observer here. This is an incredible forum. Thanks.
Guest

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby The Red Bladder » Sat Jul 04, 2020 3:03 pm

Have you completely uninstalled the Soft-eLicenser and emptied the recycle bin? It could be that there are some bits left in there that prevent the proper installation of the update, so you are going to have to root-about in Explorer looking for DLLs and other bits that should be gone.

The update is here (but you probably know that already) https://www.steinberg.net/en/company/te ... enser.html

In theory, a bog-standard uninstall should solve the problem - but that's just theory! According to Steinberg, you can also start the existing eLicenser Control Center installation as an administrator by right-clicking the 'eLCC.exe' file in 'C:\Program Files (x86)\eLicenser\eLCC' and choosing 'Run as administrator' from the contextual menu. After that, running the 'Maintenance' in the eLicenser Control Center is supposed to fix the deactivated Soft-eLicenser.

(If it was me, I'd take the refund and stick with Reaper!)
The Red Bladder
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2509
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:00 am
Location: . . .
 

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby The Elf » Sat Jul 04, 2020 3:22 pm

Good though Reaper is, I wouldn't want to use it as my main DAW, so I would persevere.

Presumably you've looked here: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-us/articles/207332910-Error-message-DCOM-connection-to-program-Synsopos-exe-failed

I've never had the problem you're describing with the eLicenser, but I have had problems with the eLicenser from time to time. Usually it throws an error with a new version of Cubase and I have to go find the latest version of the software, install, re-run and let it do its update thing (I've no idea what it does, but it needs to do it).

Make sure you do a FULL uninstallation of the eLicenser software (use Revo uninstaller and be thorough) and take another run at installing it from scratch. Red Bladder has detailed how to approach a possible resolution.

One thing to consider... 'gaming' PCs are often NOT a good idea for audio, but I'll let others explain why, because my knowledge is basic. This isn't relevant to your current position, but I've heard this myth many times and it's worth pointing out.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14649
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby Guest » Sat Jul 04, 2020 5:24 pm

As I stated in my initial post, I will contact Steinberg and let them resolve this issue. I am NOT a techie and I'd rather not. I was in touch with them before, did a remote computer link and he ran 3 or 4 programs in just a matter of a minute or two and fixed it.

I did not request HOW to fix it. I want to know more about WHY this might have happened, if it's common to Windows and why not other Windows machines? I'm assuming I have the same Windows OS as others. I am not wealthy and am about to invest more money into the software - and have the opportunity for a refund if I so choose. That is the decision.

This problem began as soon as I downloaded the e-licenser center software and then plugged in the dongle. My computer did not recognize the USB device but when I unplugged it, I got that Windows sound when one unplugs something without first verifying that it is safe to unplug.

As for the gaming computer - I don't play video games but I got it because the basic requirements for powering a DAW seemed covered (i.e. processing power and RAM and an SSD.)

Thanks.
Guest

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby Guest » Sat Jul 04, 2020 5:28 pm

is the DONGLE really the problem?
Guest

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby The Elf » Sat Jul 04, 2020 5:31 pm

GTR_RO wrote:As for the gaming computer - I don't play video games but I got it because the basic requirements for powering a DAW seemed covered (i.e. processing power and RAM and an SSD.)
Understandable, but there's more to it. Having a hefty graphics card, for instance, is actually not helpful for audio and can drain resources. As I said, I'm not an expert, but this idea of a 'gaming' PC being inherently good for audio is a bit of a myth.

Anyway... not relevant to your troubles. As you were!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14649
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby desmond » Sat Jul 04, 2020 5:47 pm

GTR_RO wrote:I want to know more about WHY this might have happened
GTR_RO wrote:I am NOT a techie

I suspect the answer is *way* more technical than you'd want to go.

GTR_RO wrote:if it's common to Windows and why not other Windows machines? I'm assuming I have the same Windows OS as others.

Don't assume that because you've had an issue, everyone else should be having the same issue as well. No two machines' operating environments are the same (it's one of the reasons PC's are (traditionally) burdened with way more incompatibility issues than machines that are more standard (eg Macs).

The best you can do is uninstall, reinstall, and if you're still having copy protection issues, work with the vendor's support as you are doing to get it resolved. They are not really going to go into the fundamentals of the guts of a fairly complicated protection system, they're are just going to help you to hopefully get it working.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9910
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby CS70 » Sat Jul 04, 2020 6:11 pm

GTR_RO wrote:
DCOM connection to program 'Synsopos.exe' failed.

I will work with Steinberg on resolving this. I did check Windows services and DCOM is running. I reinstalled the new (2 July) e-licenser software. Still not working

With "DCOM is running" I suppose you refer to the service? Or what does it mean?

However, DCOM issues most often are due to the corruption of user rights.
Are you logged in as administrator?
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5725
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby OneWorld » Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:30 pm

GTR_RO wrote:I would appreciate it havng a candid discussion of a decision I must make and I have found this forum incredible regarding great helpful information with an incredibly fast turn around response time.

I am probably giving out way too much information here but want to accurately portray the environment from which I need to make a decision.

I am getting into creating music on my computer. A year ago I purchased a gaming computer that seemed to have the specs I'd need to edit photographs and create music. It's an Acer A717 72G with an intel i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 2208 Mhz 6 core processor, 16 GB RAM and an SSD. I have no issues with the computer.

I will not be earning income from my music production. I may create some backtracks for clients (I teach guitar) but that isn't really why I want to jump into computer music. The type of music I will create is probably best described as film score style. I may play around with electronic music in the style of EDM but it's not my main focus. When I researched the software available, Cubase was the most appealing. I like the way it looks and the music writing tools available in the Artist edition look great.

Early last month I was going to purchase a license for the mid-level version, Artist 10.5 but ran into some e-licenser issues and decided to get the basic Elements version with the intention of upgrading when I got the licensing issues resolved. The Yamaha tech support in the USA got the licensing issue resolved. Then Windows dropped a large update and my license is no longer valid. I will contact the tech people this coming week and get the issue resolved, I hope.

The initial issue when I first downloaded the e-licenser software and plugged in the dongle was something to do with the Windows DCOM:

DCOM connection to program 'Synsopos.exe' failed.

I will work with Steinberg on resolving this. I did check Windows services and DCOM is running. I reinstalled the new (2 July) e-licenser software. Still not working.

I need to know why I'm having this issue. Is this common to ALL Windows users? If not, what in my computer causes this issue? Will this likely happen again? I read somewhere that the e-licenser software is outdated and if that's true, why wouldn't the Cubase people fix it?

Cubase offered to refund my money. I have to decide whether to go forward with Steinberg as they are having a fantastic deal right now where I can upgrade to the version I want at 40% off.

I'm working with Reaper right now and it works fine. But I would rather be using Cubase.

I know I have been a pest here. If and when I finally get settled in with the software I want to be using I will be more of an observer here. This is an incredible forum. Thanks.

This may or may not work but often times I get similar sorts of problems with eLicenser/Cubase/Updates and I was told by Steinberg "delete the *.sel file" I can't remember the location but it's on C:drive most likely in the eLicenser folder.

At one stage I had trawled the web for solutons when eLicenser wernt doolally after an update, I almost got to the point of re-installing Windows 10 , I did all sorts of 'fixes' nothing worked. After 2 weeks I got a reply from Cubase and the fix worked. Best of luck
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2754
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby Pete Kaine » Mon Jul 06, 2020 10:06 am

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... exe-failed

Did you see that and follow the elicencer uninstall routine that it links to when doing the client upgrade? It's possible that something in that large update broke the elicencer and whilst you might have reinstalled it with a fixed version of the software, the older settings might still remain in a corrupted state somewhere in those undeleted files.

I also saw comments in a thread that running the elicencer client as admin when installing/starting helps. I'm not saying it will, but I can see why it might and it's not going to hurt to try it.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3185
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:35 pm

Thanks. I have a call in to Steinberg USA right now. Did you read the part where my dongle failed before I even tried to set it up? My computer never recognized it which I suspect has to do with the DCOM service. I don't need anymore suggestions (I hope) as I will be talking with a tech soon (I hope.)

Thanks!
Guest

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby Guest » Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:05 pm

I just spoke with the Cubase tech people and want to post an update in case others have this same problem.

My issue cannot be resolved until Steinberg rewrites the e-licenser program due to an issue with Microsoft. They are working on it and do not have a guestamate of when that fix will be ready.
Guest

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby The Elf » Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:09 pm

GTR_RO wrote:I just spoke with the Cubase tech people and want to post an update in case others have this same problem.

My issue cannot be resolved until Steinberg rewrites the e-licenser program due to an issue with Microsoft. They are working on it and do not have a guestamate of when that fix will be ready.
Ouch!

If you have another PC where you could set up the dongle, maybe that's an option. I'm on the latest Windows version and both the dongle and eLicenser software work fine for me (I just checked).
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14649
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Steinberg and Windows

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:15 am

My other computer probably doesn't satisfy the basic requirements for Cubase. The tech was not at all encouraging and mentioned getting a refund a few times. I asked him if the dongle was the problem and he said no, but that some windows machines have been having this problem. He told me that I would probably have this issue again, occasionally. If I can't use Cubase, I don't know what I will do. I tried Reaper and it's good but I think they might give the user too much control over the program. I looked at Presonus but something concerned me - that I can't use external plugins. I'm not sure what those are, but suspect they are like Analog Lab and Aria Player and a collection of instruments I have that require Kontrol Player. If that's true then Presonus is out. FL Studios and Ableton are too geared to EDM. I'm really at a loss here...
Guest

Next