You are here

Cheeky b.....s!

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby ef37a » Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:22 am

Ooo! Never mind woodland hornets, I seem to have stirred a hive of African killer bees!

So, Edge is good and 'Da future'? Ok, I shall give it a try on the W7 lappy. My problem is I hate change to computer systems, especially those I have little control of and understand even less. BT 'improved' their email system some weeks ago and I am only just getting used to it (why change a double click to single and why, in the reply box hide the Send button and not allow scrolling?) . One good result however is that I seem to have lost Verizon (Oath) ads.

I would not mind if Ms had given me the option but the app was forced upon me, downloaded and installed without my say so. Did not know they could do that (in seven). Scary.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11775
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby innerchord » Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:19 pm

ef37a wrote:I would not mind if Ms had given me the option but the app was forced upon me, downloaded and installed without my say so. Did not know they could do that (in seven). Scary.
Are you saying that you had Windows Update turned off or the service disabled?
innerchord
Regular
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 12:00 am
 

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby ef37a » Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:57 pm

innerchord wrote:
ef37a wrote:I would not mind if Ms had given me the option but the app was forced upon me, downloaded and installed without my say so. Did not know they could do that (in seven). Scary.
Are you saying that you had Windows Update turned off or the service disabled?

No, I made a decision when I got the laptop to leave it pretty much alone and let update go ahead as needed. My three other W7 machines do have updates stopped to 'notification' just in case something interferes with a recording. I intended the W10 laptop to be my main internet device and not used much at all for audio.

Convenience, expediency and lazy b'stdness intervened however and I took to hooking up the KA6 quite often. The internet was left on, even checked emails a time or three whist recording. Never caused so much as a blink.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11775
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby Pete Kaine » Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:56 am

innerchord wrote:Thanks Pete. I hoped you'd be along to type out the long version.

It appears I might getting predictable :D

cyrano.mac wrote:Wot, none of you is running Brave, or Vivaldi, or iCab, or...

Big Vivaldi fan over here.

cyrano.mac wrote:As to SAAS, the payment calculation system we use at the office, needs Internet Explorer, preferably on Win7. The devs think that's OK. It'll be a happy day when I no longer have to work with these guys. A while ago, when I reported a pretty disastrous bug, they told me it was because I was using it too fast. Imagine a system failing because it's user is too fast. :crazy:

This is what I was alluding to this earlier. There are so many legacy applications out there that were written to take advantage of some feature or other that was inherent to ie and how it works within a company security regime. Companies have been warned for years to make the move, hands are finally being forced.

It's still amazing how many older bit of hardware are out there running Winxp or even older. You start poking about at things like cash machines or medical and research equipment that have been in situ for 20 years and it quickly becomes apparent the scale of the problem. Not really an issue if they are all standalone, but as the world get more connected, it just opens up more problems.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3185
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby blinddrew » Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:31 pm

Wasn't there something recently (last year?) about the DoD's nuclear weapon system all still running on XP?

At least it was a pretty stable platform I guess. :)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10838
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby ef37a » Mon Jul 13, 2020 12:57 pm

blinddrew wrote:Wasn't there something recently (last year?) about the DoD's nuclear weapon system all still running on XP?

At least it was a pretty stable platform I guess. :)

I am certain I read that military and space applications always run an OS or two behind current?
Who remembers the IT Crowd episode where Moss asks the soldier "what os is running the robot's laptop?" "Vista" came the reply. "We are all going to DIE!!" shouts Moss.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11775
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:14 pm

blinddrew wrote:Wasn't there something recently (last year?) about the DoD's nuclear weapon system all still running on XP?

Yes... but at least it was on a system that was completely isolated from the Internet by several hundred feet of water... ;-)
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27883
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby MOF » Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:19 pm

Wasn't there something recently (last year?) about the DoD's nuclear weapon system all still running on XP?

At least it was a pretty stable platform I guess. :)

If Microsoft was a British company you could understand their insistence on using said software for patriotic/security :lol: reasons but given that Microsoft and Apple are both American I don’t understand why they didn’t move over to Apple years ago. :headbang:
Cue torrent of abuse. ;)
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1127
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby Pete Kaine » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:35 am

MOF wrote:If Microsoft was a British company you could understand their insistence on using said software for patriotic/security

You'd think an ARM based solution would have been more fitting for a weapons system...
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3185
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester
Kit to fuel your G.A.S - https://www.scan.co.uk/shop/pro-audio

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby CS70 » Tue Jul 14, 2020 10:46 pm

ef37a wrote:
blinddrew wrote:Wasn't there something recently (last year?) about the DoD's nuclear weapon system all still running on XP?

At least it was a pretty stable platform I guess. :)

I am certain I read that military and space applications always run an OS or two behind current?
Who remembers the IT Crowd episode where Moss asks the soldier "what os is running the robot's laptop?" "Vista" came the reply. "We are all going to DIE!!" shouts Moss.

Dave.

Yeah, for the same reason most organizations' software and hardware may start cutting edge when it's first procured but doesn't stay that way for long. Considering that DoD's military procurement cycles are longer than most and equipment can be in operational service for well over 30 years, you will have all kind of stuff used there.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5746
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Cheeky b.....s!

Postby MOF » Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:14 am

Considering that DoD's military procurement cycles are longer than most and equipment can be in operational service for well over 30 years, you will have all kind of stuff used there.
I think the most recent example of this was several Banking institutions, their systems were so antiquated that they had to bring people out of retirement to find out what had gone wrong and to advise on transitioning to more modern software.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1127
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Previous