You are here

UAD plugin distortion in Reaper but not with nasty dly, cokos etc

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

UAD plugin distortion in Reaper but not with nasty dly, cokos etc

Postby hooty2 » Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:52 am

Hi...i'm aware i asked this question a while back i think...probably not well posed. Issue still causing grief.
Reaper DAW. UAD all up to date etc. Plenty of DSP (internal card, x2 USB satellites)

Say, for example: i make a track. I split in two places to make a separate media item within the track.
I add an fx from UAD to that discreet item.
Horrible noises ensue as the cursor passes this item.
If i use reaper plugins, or e.g. Nasty Delay (i was using delays)..no prblem?

any thoughts?
cheers
hooty2
Regular
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:00 am

Re: UAD plugin distortion in Reaper but not with nasty dly, cokos etc

Postby manwilde » Thu Oct 08, 2020 9:33 am

Is seems to me this has to do with the way the signal flows from Reaper to your UAD hardware and back, which is probably different depending on whether an UAD fx is applied on a track or at the item directly.
The noises might be solved or minimised increasing the buffer size on your interface, maybe you´ve already tried that?.
Also, just in case, check on your Reaper preferences, under the "Plugins" tab, "Compatibility", first option "Pre-zero plug-in output buffers". Is that checked?
Have you posted this issue at the Reaper forums?. You might get additional help there...
manwilde
Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 3:57 pm

Re: UAD plugin distortion in Reaper but not with nasty dly, cokos etc

Postby hooty2 » Thu Oct 08, 2020 5:01 pm

cheers for that...i'm on to it tonight.
:clap:
hooty2
Regular
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:00 am

Re: UAD plugin distortion in Reaper but not with nasty dly, cokos etc

Postby hooty2 » Fri Oct 09, 2020 1:57 pm

:clap: :thumbup:
and so it was the buffer size!
i needed to type 'fireface' into programs search box to reinstate the little fiery icon on the task bar and job done.
I was put off the trail due to other plugins working and have somehow been afraid of settings generally. :headbang:
I sometimes wonder how i'm allowed to even use this stuff...but on and up
many thanks for directing me to the solution
:bouncy:
now i have to cross fingers and hope i'm adding the right emoji things:)
hooty2
Regular
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 12:00 am

Re: UAD plugin distortion in Reaper but not with nasty dly, cokos etc

Postby manwilde » Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:04 pm

Glad you sorted it out!. You can access your AI´s buffer size directly from Reaper if you click on the upper right corner of your screen, where you recording path, sample rate, audio device and buffer size should be displayed.
manwilde
Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 3:57 pm