You are here

New hard drive not seen device manager, possibly damaged ?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Re: New hard drive not seen device manager, possibly damaged ?

Postby Marbury » Tue Oct 27, 2020 12:36 pm

I wanted to amend my last post but SOS forum seems not to allow edits after some time which is a bit strange.

Anyway, I have managed to format my new drive which now shows in "This PC" The problem now is AOMEI cloning software does not see it. I am stuck.
Marbury
Frequent Poster
Posts: 841
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire, UK
 

Re: New hard drive not seen device manager, possibly damaged ?

Postby Trevor Johnson » Tue Oct 27, 2020 1:04 pm

I am unfamiliar with AOMEI, possibly it doesn't recognise the file system you formatted the disk with, although you probably formatted the disk as NFTS, which it should recognise.

For disk cloning I use the free version of Macrium reflect and never had any issues with it.
https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

For backup I use SyncBack, which has an excellent free version
https://www.2brightsparks.com/syncback/ ... k-hub.html

If you stick to those you should be OK, although I am not saying that there aren't equally good products out there, but I don't use them.
Trevor Johnson
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:00 am

Re: New hard drive not seen device manager, possibly damaged ?

Postby Marbury » Tue Oct 27, 2020 1:30 pm

Trevor Johnson wrote:I am unfamiliar with AOMEI, possibly it doesn't recognise the file system you formatted the disk with, although you probably formatted the disk as NFTS, which it should recognise.

For disk cloning I use the free version of Macrium reflect and never had any issues with it.
https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

For backup I use SyncBack, which has an excellent free version
https://www.2brightsparks.com/syncback/ ... k-hub.html

If you stick to those you should be OK, although I am not saying that there aren't equally good products out there, but I don't use them.

Thanks but I was looking for something free that I am not tied to paying for once the trial is over.
Marbury
Frequent Poster
Posts: 841
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire, UK
 

Re: New hard drive not seen device manager, possibly damaged ?

Postby OneWorld » Tue Oct 27, 2020 2:45 pm

Marbury wrote:
Trevor Johnson wrote:I am unfamiliar with AOMEI, possibly it doesn't recognise the file system you formatted the disk with, although you probably formatted the disk as NFTS, which it should recognise.

For disk cloning I use the free version of Macrium reflect and never had any issues with it.
https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree

For backup I use SyncBack, which has an excellent free version
https://www.2brightsparks.com/syncback/ ... k-hub.html

If you stick to those you should be OK, although I am not saying that there aren't equally good products out there, but I don't use them.

Thanks but I was looking for something free that I am not tied to paying for once the trial is over.

Sorry to be so direct but might I suggest you read the content of the products' website fully. Both Macrium and SyncBack offer totally free to use as well as 'free to download - trial' versions of their software. And those free versions are very good. I have used both for longer than I care to remember. Both products are regularly updated by the respective companies. All you need to is look at all the web-pages for the options systematically and you'll drop on the respective links for the totally free versions of their products.
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: New hard drive not seen device manager, possibly damaged ?

Postby Marbury » Tue Oct 27, 2020 3:00 pm

I was about to come back to you and say that I had missed the free link. There is just so much clag to read through before you find what you want.

Now I have installed it and attempted to clone, I am getting another brick wall. I am cloning the Windows 10 C drive (500GB) onto a WD 1TB formatted drive but I am getting the error "the target disk has an incompatible sector size for this operation, please choose a different disk" I can't get past this.
Marbury
Frequent Poster
Posts: 841
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire, UK
 

Previous