You are here

Speeding up CPU performance - Hardware Upgrades

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Speeding up CPU performance - Hardware Upgrades

Postby NeonRocketXIX » Thu Oct 15, 2020 9:15 pm

Hello, I'm new to the SOS forum so please forgive any faux pas I might unknowingly commit. I am looking to potentially upgrade my PC's hardware as I run Studio One 4 on my PC:
Intel Core i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20 GHz
12 GB RAM (I think upgrade-able to 16GB but might be more)
Studio One 4 (Artist w/ 3rd party VST support) with a Presonus Studio 68C interface.

The reason I'm interested in doing this is that I recently opened a project using a synth VST I hadn't used before and apparently discovered the hard way (read crackles and pops) that one of them is an absolute CPU hog. Granted, I was using low drop-out protection and had some programs opened I probably should have closed but I was still surprised to be seeing the spikes in my CPU. Admittedly I have basic knowledge only of PC stats and the like but I do know you can have more RAM than what a processor can handle but also can have less RAM than what a processor can handle. I know 12 GB of RAM isn't exactly lightning quick by today's standards; this is what I was considering upgrading but I also don't know if it may be ultimately worthwhile to just have a faster computer/processor/more memory.

Of course I am aware that a faster PC would be better but I am wondering if I will notice a difference should I upgrade my RAM. This is a relatively cheap option but I also don't know if my processor is decent enough to have the RAM make a difference in my DAW's CPU usage. I am definitely not planning to record movie scores or have projects with dozens upon dozens of tracks but I'd prefer to not see a CPU spike running just one CPU-hog VST in my projects (If anyone is wondering, the hog is Korg's Arp Odyssey VST).