You are here

Alternative to QuickTime Pro in Win 10

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Alternative to QuickTime Pro in Win 10

Postby emptybe » Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:42 pm

Hi All. I'm still ironing our the kinks after upgrading to Windows 10. Among the many 'surprises' :madas: are that QuickTime Pro doesn't work properly any more. I write music to picture for a living and found a workflow of taking the QT file I'm send by editors, then using QT pro to add an mp3 of the mixed audio to that file and just 'save as' a QT file.

But in Win 10 it does...nothing. Doesn't save or keep the audio files. Has anybody found a workaround? Or is there some other alternative app that I can just add the audio to an existing.mov or MP4 file and save as a QT file rather than having to re-render?
emptybe
Poster

Re: Alternative to QuickTime Pro in Win 10

Postby manwilde » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:39 pm

Not familiar with QT, and I'm on Win7, but Reaper's Batch file/Item converter might work for you...
manwilde
Regular

Postby James Perrett » Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:55 pm

manwilde wrote:Not familiar with QT, and I'm on Win7, but Reaper's Batch file/Item converter might work for you...

Yes, Reaper would do it but I think you would need to re-render the video (unless they've changed things since I last checked).
James Perrett
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Postby emptybe » Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:22 pm

Thanks for the replies. I already use Vegas to mix the audio to video which I can then render from but it's slow and usually results in bigger but worse resolution video files than the one's I receive as they're coming from 'proper' edit suits. That's why just sticking my audio onto the original video file works so well...
emptybe
Poster

Postby blinddrew » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:38 pm

Is it a case of W10 not having the relevant codec by default and this being something you need to download?