You are here

How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby ef37a » Mon Nov 23, 2020 9:13 am

Morning Chris,
You will find sheds of M-A 2496 sound cards on Ebay but make sure they come with the MIDI /S/PDIF breakout cable. The original driver disc would be nice to have as well but I dare say drivers can be found on'tnet.

The 2496 either IS a 32 bit card or will work in a 32 bit system because it goes way back to 98se!

You might even find an Audiophile 192 but peeps tend to want silly money for them.

Also, have you looked at other notation softwares such as Forte? Free trial available.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12470
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby The Elf » Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:13 am

ulrichburke wrote:One of the other guys says that modern DAWS aren't all like Fruity Loops - just dropping in loops on timelines.
They definitely aren't! You would still recognise Cubase, I assure you!

I don't know of any serious DAW that only allows for 'painting by numbers' music creation, and it wouldn't last long if it did.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15803
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby James Perrett » Mon Nov 23, 2020 3:29 pm

ulrichburke wrote:If I buy a soundcard, I don't know a lot about soundcards, do I have to check the soundcard ITSELF is 32-bit or 64-bit, or would that only apply to the drivers? By which I mean can I just buy any PCIe soundcard - all the sockets on my mobo are PCIe - or do I have to check the soundcard itself is 64-bit first?

You need to check that the soundcard has drivers specifically for XP64. I doubt you'll find many soundcards or external audio interfaces that support your operating system. I would strongly suggest changing the operating system to something more widely supported - either 32 bit XP if you want to stick with XP or Windows 10 64 bit if your hardware will support it. I've found Windows 10 64 bit to work well with Windows XP era software like Adobe Audition and Plextools.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10153
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby ulrichburke » Mon Nov 23, 2020 3:50 pm

Dear James.

Kiss the dinosaur goodbye, huh? Not sure this ancient computer could take Win10 and it's a BIT close to Christmas to buy myself a new one, but I'll look for a soundcard with suitable drivers - thank Gawd it's just the drivers that have to be compatible, not the actual physical soundcard itself - try to keep this one going till the New Year THEN, once my bank a/c's recovered from Christmas - whatever form it takes this year - I'll buy myself a nice reconditioned PC - COULD build myself one but I've found a site which sells 'em for cheaper than I could build 'em and of course you get a warranty and after-sales service chucked in.

I'll make sure I've got a ton of memory so I can run VM XP if need be. Dunno why they've never made a 64-bit of XP. Will try out the other ones you mentioned - that I'd never heard of, that's why I hadn't tried them - once I get QSE working so I've got SOMETHING going I can actually USE!! (Might even have another go at Sonar now it's a freebie called Cakewalk. But Honestly, that thing's a computer hog.)

Thanks for all your help, and the others, very much appreciated.

Yours respectfully

Chris. I'll write you some piano'n'strings - my fave kind of music, Elevator Clayderman! - when I've gotten something working again. And I'll tell you what happens.....
ulrichburke
Regular
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:00 am

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby ef37a » Mon Nov 23, 2020 4:19 pm

M-Audio used to be ***t hot about drivers and XP64 is about their era so I bet there were drivers for it. Whether you can find them is a different matter.
when Avid acquired them things went decidedly pear shaped for some time.

I am looking foe some old 2496 software myself, must be SOMEONE out there with an original disc surely?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12470
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby The Elf » Mon Nov 23, 2020 4:42 pm

Just be careful. There's a reason why many of us on here go to audio-PC specialists to get our PCs built for us. Most PC builders, even experienced professionals, haven't the first idea of what is required for a reliable audio PC - and you may have no recourse to return it.

Just saying... :angel:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 15803
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby zenguitar » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:18 pm

Looking all the way back to the beginning of this topic I think it might be time to call for a time out and re-assess where things are heading.

My understanding is that Chris has a problem that he believed could be resolved by using Cubase via Re-Wire, in the process of trying to get that to work he came up against a problem and posted here asking for help.

In the process of trying to help we've been distracted by a discussion about Cubase, audio interfaces, and operating systems; and in the process have completely missed the underlying problem that Chris was trying to solve.

Chris is using QuickScore Elite Level II for composition. It works well for him because he is restricted to inputing notes on a score using the mouse. He knows it well, and can use it intuitively. His real problem is that he is not satisfied with the sounds available.

I've had a look at the website for QSEL II.
https://www.sionsoft.com/qse2lit.html

Sadly, while it does refer to Re-Wire and VST support, it is all very vague. Even checking the manual is of little help. There is no indication what VST support there is, VST, VST2, VST3?

Chris, am I right in surmising that you are happy to work with QSEL II on your existing computer and version of Windows, but you are looking for access to better sounds?

If so, we may be able to find a better way to achieve what you want rather than go down the rabbit hole of upgrades, AI's, and Windows discussions.

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 11063
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Devon
liberté, frivolité et vanité

Re: How do I turn off MS Wavetable Synth in XP?

Postby ulrichburke » Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:06 pm

Dear Zenguitar.

While I'm happy to try out other software, I liked QSE because it was simple, prob. like me! One stave per instrument (of course you could have 3 staves with 3 instances of the same instrument on but you know what I mean!) 4 effects per stave, no sends, no hidden windows, no effects chains.... I can just sit down, get a bunch of sounds and write a New Agey piece with it. I'm always looking for nice background pad presets/soundfonts (the all-time pad soundfont winner is the Elf soundfont, it's awesome!) because I've never been that good at programming synths (I HAVE tried, just it isn't my strong suit.)

Cris Sion originally just wrote it for his students, it was called Music Write back then. I became his tester for it, it got dragged into the 21st century to a point but it's never going to be a 64-bit, 2,000 preset modern monster, it just accepts lots of VSTs (as far as VST1, 2, or 3 goes, you suckit-and-see, if it shows up when you click on the list, usually it works!) but personally I really enjoy writing music in it. I'm often a piano'n'strings guy, I get Edirol Orchestral (for starters!) and write the piece using that, then I try out other pianos and sounds and when I like what I hear I leave it. I know I could mix better, given a bit of training but the prob. around where I live is software snobbery. If you've not got Cubase or Logic X, teachers won't come near you.

So I thought I'd better have another crack at Cubase, just so I could get a few lessons with someone. But I HATE piano roll with a vengeance, can't be bothered teasing all those little dashes out. Why not just choose a 1 to 4 beat note and have done with it? You can go back through the piece juggling lengths after you've finished it, I want to get it written before I forget it! Hated Cubase notation because you can only see one instrument at once, really. So I thought I could Rewire QSE to Cubase as QSE's got Rewire. Then I wondered if they were both in a 64-bit environment, and Cubase could handle the 64-bit plug-ins which QSE can't, keep QSE as the front end, put the big-boy plugins in Cubase, write the notes in QSE, use the sounds in Cubase.

That's when I hit the brick wall of this ASIO4ALL problem. I don't know if the bwilliant idea above will work cos I've never got ASIO4ALL working well enough to find out. Remember all QSE's doing is sending MIDI signals to Cubase. So surely it's a Cubase problem somehow, cos Cubase is the only one generating noises (well not GENERATING as in MAKING, but piggy-backing the MIDI sounds to the VSTs). Then I could learn all the things like effects chains etc. in Cubase and still b e able to write the piece on software I understand. Or better still, start off by writing the whole piece in QSE, with the QSE friendly sounds so I know roughly what it sounds like, then go onto Rewiring it to Cubase and using the big-boy Cubase sounds, knowing the piece CAN sound good once mixed right! (hoping someone will finally give me lessons in doing that bit, I can't mix a jelly with Gordon Ramsay helping out!)

That's all the masterplan ever was, I just didn't expect to hit this ASIO4ALL problem. If the above plan cannot work for any reason, tell me.

Thanks for all your help so far. Like I just said above - feel free to say if the whole idea can't work for some reason. Maybe that's what the problem IS - the actual idea not working. I don't know.

Yours respectfully

Chris.
ulrichburke
Regular
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:00 am

Previous