You are here

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Moderator: Moderators

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby S.Crow » Thu May 06, 2021 8:05 pm

By that I mean, if Reaper is using it as an ASIO device, can I simultaneously play audio using Chrome, Spotify or other apps that use the standard Windows driver model?
What is the name that describes this type of sharing?

This with the latest build of Windows 10.
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen.
S.Crow
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 4:34 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby blinddrew » Thu May 06, 2021 10:08 pm

I'm fairly certain I can do that on my 8i6 without configuring anything specially.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14819
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby S.Crow » Thu May 06, 2021 10:11 pm

Thanks.
My current AI works fine but I would like more I/O and the Focusrite fits the bill.
S.Crow
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 4:34 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby blinddrew » Thu May 06, 2021 10:17 pm

I'm not on that machine at the moment but I'll try and remember to check tomorrow.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14819
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby uselessoldman » Thu May 06, 2021 11:46 pm

Yes you can without any issue,

However if you want to use loopback to record say youtube on your DAW you then have to change the windows system audio drivers to the same Asio ones used in the DAW. Then you need to change the focusrite device inputs for loopback to DAW channels 1/2. Mine uses the Sapphire Asio but its an older audio interface. Then in the DAW you create 2 audio tracks and point inputs at loopbacks 1/2 and with monitor on they should work and record.

I find this useful when trying to match a synth patch or create a guitar effects chain. record it first and then use the plugins/effects to try and emulate the sound. I might first rip it with RX8 to try and isolate as best I can the instrument/effects I want to then create
uselessoldman
Regular
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 7:39 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby James Perrett » Fri May 07, 2021 12:12 am

uselessoldman wrote:However if you want to use loopback to record say youtube on your DAW you then have to change the windows system audio drivers to the same Asio ones used in the DAW.

The OP is using Reaper which offers a built-in loopback facility.

In Reaper you change the Audio System in the Audio Device Dialog to WASAPI and then choose the Shared Loopback driver. When you set Reaper to record it will record anything played through the Windows audio system. Set input monitoring to OFF on the track you are recording to prevent feedback.

When you are finished change the Audio System in Reaper back to ASIO.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 10763
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby S.Crow » Fri May 07, 2021 12:15 am

Thanks all.
I don't just use Reaper so good to get other handles on this. :thumbup:
S.Crow
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 4:34 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby S.Crow » Fri May 07, 2021 8:28 am

I'm also considering the Presonus Studio 68C so am wondering if that also offers this same feature?
S.Crow
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 4:34 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby blinddrew » Fri May 07, 2021 8:48 am

Don't know about the Presonus but just confirmed it with the 8i6. Two sources playing simultaneously (Reaper and Youtube) with no problems.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14819
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3G - Can it use ASIO and WDM at the same time?

Postby S.Crow » Fri May 07, 2021 9:15 am

Thanks Drew. :thumbup:
S.Crow
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 4:34 pm