You are here

What are you using your Atari for?

For all other computers and operating systems, including Atari, Linux and mobile apps.

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby tzouras » Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:59 pm

All my gear is boxed up now since moving house so let me try and think of the setup.... :beamup:

1985 STFM1040
Creator Unitor
Korg M1 keyboard
Yamaha DX7 keyboard
Roland JD990
Korg Wavestation
Proteus 1
Akai 3200 sampler
Alesis Quadraverb
SCCI drive
Allen Heath GS3 mixer
Fostex A8
Technics DAT
Mackie HR824's
Yamaha cassette

It all used to work perfectly well, but I'm going to upgrade to a Mac Logic Reason setup eventually.
User avatar
tzouras
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby David Etheridge » Thu Oct 27, 2005 5:45 pm

tzouras wrote:
It all used to work perfectly well, but I'm going to upgrade to a Mac Logic Reason setup eventually.

Erm...
are you sure that's wise? :?

(just a thought)
:D

Dave.
David Etheridge
Regular
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:00 am
Ataris which keep on going, 28 hardware synths. Still recording to tape.

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby tzouras » Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:22 pm

I don't know if it's wise, but I think I reached the limits of my setup, especially with sampler memory and the pain of manually time streching and the hassle of setting up for remixing older tracks. Also, the idea of recording, mixing, mastering and SAVING ALL the parameters in one box, with instant recall, appeals.

I must admit that the thought of learning to use all the new hard/software does freak me out a bit, especially as where I live there is not One soul using the Mac/Logic stuff who might be able to help me out a bit. I would probably enrol on the Berklee online production course.

My theory is, that once I learn all the new stuff, it should make things relatively simpler to do with the addition of being able to manipulate sounds and effects through the DAW. And then straight on to CD.

D'you think I should just optimise my present stuff with extra memory/gizmos and add a new monitor and HD drive? I probably don't even know half the stuff I would need to 'modernise' the Atari experience.

Thing is, after 20 years of experience on the Atari system, I got rather good at putting my [ ****** ] together; used it for midi sequencing with just the occassional and minimal guitar and vocals smpt'd to my A8.

Your thoughts would be welcome and maybe if you're visiting Cyprus next year you could pop round and give me some real time advice before I take the plunge. I intend to remix and master almost everything I've done the past 20 years before I take the upgrade path, so I've got at least 2 years work ahead of me.
User avatar
tzouras
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby David Etheridge » Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:06 am

Hi Tzouras,
yes, you can optimise your existing setup quite substantially. A 4 meg upgrade to the ST would be quite a useful thing to have, because you can then run Creator in multitasking mode, running extra programs at the same time. Looking at your gear list, I think you'll find Atari editors for most of your synths on the atariMIDI archives files (look at the FAQ posting above for the full list).
Running a hard disk also makes things a lot easier: you're not fiddling with floppies (I always ended up knocking the one I wanted onto the floor :headbang:) and load up times are a fraction of those with floppies. So this means you can have larger song files complete with sysex dumps and sound patches edited and ready to load all at the same time.
As ever, check with Barrie at Keychange for advice on upgrades, as he's the guy who knows and has everything in stock.

Don't get me wrong about upgrading; I know that Logic is a very powerful program, but I find that the main drawback is the very amount of stuff on offer. You start off trying to do one thing and find that there are so many side alleys that you're led down, with the result that three days later you've got nowhere because you've been playing around with setups and other preferences. The Environment page is a case in point: a very flexible and comprehensive feature that allows you to make up a virtual map of all your MIDI connections.
In my case, I already know how everything's connected up, with Unitor 2 and Log 3. On Notator I simply select the MIDI channel I want and play. With Logic, I've got to construct a connection to the MIDI buss and/or module before I can do anything. Even the books on Logic (PC publishing do some excellent ones) admit that configuring Logic is a goos way to fill a boring weekend (or week? :D).
By comparison, Notator/Creator is a doddle that never takes you too far away from just playing and creating your music. It's like having a nice runabout for your weekly shopping, while Logic is the equivalent of the Space Shuttle- so many features that you may never use and take up time trying to master.

You may find that a standalone digital recorder might suit your puposes rather than an all in one DAW. No constant upgrading and reloading/reauthorising of software (SOS editor Paul White has waxed particularly wrathful on this subject) and it'll connect to your existing setup very nicely. But I would still hand on to your A8; you never know when you'll need a 'tape saturation emulator' and an A8 is much cheaper than the hardware versions!

Anyway, hopefully this has given you some food for thought. Upgrade your Atari with a nice big monitor, 4 meg of memory, the various synth and FX editors from the net (free downloads, remember) and a hard disk, and you'll find that things can be greatly speeded up and simplified.

Hope that this helps,
Best wishes,
dave
:beamup:
David Etheridge
Regular
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:00 am
Ataris which keep on going, 28 hardware synths. Still recording to tape.

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby tzouras » Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:16 pm

David, thanks for your feedback, you've given me food for thought. Would it be possible to use soft synths/samplers/FX with the upgraded Atari or would I need to sync it up to some additional PC?
User avatar
tzouras
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby David Etheridge » Sun Oct 30, 2005 11:45 am

Hi Tzouras,
there are one or two softsynths that run on Ataris. If you check with Tim's Atari MIDI world (see FAQs for locations) you'll find further details there (also check out the Atari Launchpad with links direct to the relevant homepages), but I'm guessing that you'ld need an extra Atari to run them, as I have no experience of them myself (I prefer hardware stuff).
Quite a few folks on the yahoo atari MIDI users forum have sucessfully linked their Ataris to PCs running VST instruments. If I were in your position I'd probably prompt for a Mac for this, and used Macs are resonably cheap since the G4 and G5s came along, and don't have the rubbish Microsoft OS, which is the source of endless aggro, as witness yourself on the PC FAQs and forums here.
The thing to remember is that VSTis and virtual FX in particular are reputed to be quite processor intensive. This is one of the many reasons I stuck with Atari +hardware synths and FX.
Also remember that the Atari is STILL the most accurate mahine for MIDI timing, as the MIDI ports are wired direct to the main processor, so if you use yours for sequencing and an externel PC/Mac for synths/samplers/FX you'll get the best of both worlds.
One final point (which not a lot of people know): NASA found that the humble Atari was the only computer that still worked on zero gravity emulation flights!
:D

Best wishes,
dave. :bouncy:
David Etheridge
Regular
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:00 am
Ataris which keep on going, 28 hardware synths. Still recording to tape.

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby The real musiclover » Tue Nov 01, 2005 9:43 am


Hello.

An Atari is more computing than they had on the moon missions, is it not? If you believe they put a man on the moon. (maaan on the moon)

Y'know? I just remembererd i have an Atari, 2 in fact, except one is a 2600. :D The other a 1040.
It has midi, THE thing that got us on 'em way back when, and the timng is great. I never really used it much, and have no need of it's sequencing these days.

Rather than take this nostalgic thread off topic i made a post regarding my Atari use question.
The real musiclover
Regular
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby David Etheridge » Tue Nov 01, 2005 9:44 pm

Yes, naturally the Atari postdates Moon landings. According to Tim Conrardy at Tim's Atari MIDIworld, they've been using it more recently, at a guess for Shuttle simulations.
Can you imagine Microtwit stuff working at several G force? :roll:
This program-this program :headbang: has performed-performed :headbang: :headbang: an illegal operation and will be-won't be :headbang: shut down. We are the Borg-resistance is futile :headbang: :tongue:
You see what I mean? :D

Dave :beamup:

Live long and prosper.
David Etheridge
Regular
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:00 am
Ataris which keep on going, 28 hardware synths. Still recording to tape.

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby The real musiclover » Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:45 am

Been some assimilation attempts, but rotating the phasers harmonics seems to work, the shields are at 90%, but one or two bull filters need a tweak!

I discovered a replay 16 sampling cartridge, with no instructions? Shouldn't be too hard to suss out if i get it, should it?
The real musiclover
Regular
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby David Etheridge » Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:18 am

Hi RML,
yes, why not? it shouldn't be too hard to figure out-it's not brain surgery!
Have a word with Barrie and he might be able to supply some documentation.
Incidentally, have a butchers at the 'Atari as synth' posting; there's some good news for you :bouncy:

Dave.
David Etheridge
Regular
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:00 am
Ataris which keep on going, 28 hardware synths. Still recording to tape.

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby Neo-Classical Guitar Man » Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:58 am

The real musiclover wrote:

I've discovered a Replay 16 sampling cartridge with no instructions? Shouldn't be too hard to suss out if I get it, should it?


Yeah I have been after a Replay 16 for around five years now.


NCGM :)
Neo-Classical Guitar Man
Regular
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire
Footloose and fancy free...gizz a job!

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby Pabs » Sat Nov 05, 2005 1:10 am

Neo-Classical Guitar Man wrote:

Yeah I have been after a Replay 16 for around five years now.


NCGM :)

Have you ever been to one of those Atari shows they often have? I went to one many years ago at the Four Pillars Hotel in Osterley. "Goodmans Atari Show" i think it was called. Im sure you might be able to track Replay 16 down at one of those shows.

Pabs
User avatar
Pabs
Regular
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:00 am
 

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby coool » Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:58 am

there is a couple on ebay for about a fiver at the moment, they are excellent .. i used to make tons of music in the early 90's with one of them. try and get 'breakthrough' by the same people as sequencer one to use with it. it wont work with most of the decent sequencers because it plugs into the cartridge port where the dongles go

cheers
grainger
coool
Poster
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby Tim. » Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:21 am

Neo-Classical Guitar Man wrote:
The real musiclover wrote:

I've discovered a Replay 16 sampling cartridge with no instructions? Shouldn't be too hard to suss out if I get it, should it?

Yeah I have been after a Replay 16 for around five years now.


NCGM :)


As can be seen from my February post up there ^, I said pm or email me if my Replay cartridge and floppy were of interest to you.

It appeared they were ‘cos back then we exchanged PMs and I offered to pop the items in the post… but you never gave me your snail mail address. :? :? :?

Tim ;o)
Tim.
Regular
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 1:00 am

Re: What are you using your Atari for?

Postby Neo-Classical Guitar Man » Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:45 pm

Hi Tim,

I just had another quick read of your PM message and errr....I think I should pay more attention! :headbang: :beamup:

Well your offer is very kind one and I would like to give your Replay 16 a new home, so check your PM's again.


NCGM :)
Neo-Classical Guitar Man
Regular
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire
Footloose and fancy free...gizz a job!

PreviousNext