You are here

Amp Synth? Synth Amp? Ever been done?

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Amp Synth? Synth Amp? Ever been done?

Postby Guest » Sat May 26, 2018 10:43 am

Would it be possible for someone to make an Amp Synth or Synth Amp?

I’m new to all this guitar gear malarkey and have whizzed through YouTube last year listening to mainly amps, me favourite is the vintage Vox AC 30, even more so now that I’ve used it in the excellent Perry Vale studios.

Amp first, no compromise, it’s a wicked guitar amp, that’s it.

Valves or Solid State, would one or the other be best suited?

Wot could one do that oscillating? amped signal to synth it up?

LFO, Filter, Env, cut-off, I assume one couldn’t have a proper synth engine.

I haven’t yet heard any guitar synths that can rival say heavy-duty Dance/Club music tones, particularly aggressive ones, (my music’s recently been labelled tough) this is wot I’m after.

At the mo, I’m all Boss pedals, 5 of ‘em, in this order, BF-2, DS-2, AW-3, AC-3 and the new JB-2, very wicked, will be buying another of those, and the AC-3… I’m not sure if any of those qualify as ‘Synthetic’ er, synth parameters but could possibly be included, perhaps ‘synth’ is also the wrong word…

I still have a brill 80’s EH Poly phase, someone once told me, (I guess I can work it out for myself now) that it’s basically a few synth parameters, a module? as it has, ENV.MOD, MOD. RATE, ENV. SENS. & FEEDBACK, & RATE again, one can’t have all five parameters simultaneously though, three are for the envelope control, the other two for the phase, one switches between EV or SWEEP/phase.