You are here

Replacing a tele bridge pickup cheaply

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Replacing a tele bridge pickup cheaply

Postby garrettendi » Tue Oct 01, 2019 9:49 am

Hi guys, I'm wanting to replace the bridge pickup of my Squier CV tele with a cheap £15 hot rails pickup. The sound samples of the pickup I've heard all suggest it's better than the Squier stock pickup, but if it does go worse, then I'm only £15 down! I am USELESS with all things DIY and especially soldering, and as it's such a cheap pickup with a potential to not be as good as I think, I am loathe to pay a luthier or likewise to replace it for me as I would if it was, say a Seymour Duncan.

But as I say, DIY of myself is not an option. I have a mate of mine who doesn't play guitar, but is a fully qualified electrical engineer by trade, and has repaired and altered many electrical items including even model trains (he is a fellow train enthusiast of mine!). He would probably do the job for the price of a pint of beer, or maybe no price at all (he's a good mate). If I can get the material that teaches how to install pickups, do you guys think he'd be a good option to go with?

The tele is not my main guitar anyway since I bought a new gee-tar, so if the whole thing does go belly-up, I can leave the guitar for until I can pay for it to be professionally repaired with no loss to my playing time.

What are your thoughts guys?
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
"I mean, Led Zeppelin didn't write tunes that everyone liked. They left that to the Bee Gees"Wayne Campbell (Wayne's World)

Re: Replacing a tele bridge pickup cheaply

Postby Wonks » Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:18 am