You are here

No sound from a tube amp... a blown fuse?

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

No sound from a tube amp... a blown fuse?

Postby jszy » Sun Nov 24, 2019 6:30 am

Hi everyone,

I have been using the Randall RD20H for many years, it sounded fine, until yesterday...
I noticed a huge drop in volume... the valve driving the effects loop turned out to be blown
So I replaced it, it sounded normal again....... however.......

When I put it back in place, I didn't realize the power cable was a little loose...
and I tried to switch it on.......... (of course it didn't turn on)
then I turned the switch off, firmly plug in the power cable and turned it on again
it lit up, BUT THERE WAS NO SOUND.

The lights were on, so I suspect that the mains fuse is fine (?)
The power tubes were lit, but I couldn't tell if the preamp tubes were lit.... (they should be fine though, since it sounded normal just a few minutes before I blew the amp....)

I found on the internet that, there are even more fuses inside the amp (called anode fuses?)
Did one of those blow?? How do I find out?
How do I fix it? Is it as simple as replacing the blown fuse?

It's kinda hard to find a amp tech here in Hong Kong, so if it's just a blown fuse, I'd really like to fix it myself...
jszy
Poster

Re: No sound from a tube amp... a blown fuse?

Postby ef37a » Sun Nov 24, 2019 8:14 am

Yes, it could be a blown HT fuse but the question then is, 'why did it blow'? Could just be a 'tired' fuse or possibly an arcing output valve but 6V6 valves (if I have the right amp) are very rugged and hardly ever fail.

I am more concerned however about your statement "mains cable seems loose". This is a possible shock or even fire hazard and I urge you to try very hard to find an amp tech. Surely there are musical instrument shops and they must have some sort of access to technical help?